Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through July 21, 2006

Old     (charvey)      Join Date: Jun 2006       06-30-2006, 11:17 AM Reply   
I did a search and couldn't come up with a the information I was seeking. I may have missed it.

I just picked up a 2004 Moomba Outback. Has a tower, but no built in ballast. The boat is in showroom condition with 32 hours. It runs great, but I think I screwed up. I'm new to owning a boat and wakeboarding. I learned to wakeboard over the last few months on the old boat I still have which is a 70' Correct Craft Mustang. My trick portfolio is pretty weak, but I can land wake to wake with 4 feet of air, and I'm still learning. I wanted more air.

First day our on the new boat I was a little disappointed with the wake. I should have done more research. What I've learned is the regular outback hull is different from the rest of the moombas and better for skiing. I had no ballast in the boat and my wife and sister.

I know I have to add ballast and I'm not looking for 10 ft of air, but can I set this boat up with a nice wake? What size sacs do I need and where should I put them. What is the best ballast pump? Do you drain and fill them each time out? How long will it take to fill and drain the tanks? Do you pump the sacs empty or drain them into the floor?
Old     (flux)      Join Date: Jun 2003       06-30-2006, 11:37 AM Reply