Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (Greg2223)      Join Date: Dec 2011       03-04-2013, 11:31 PM Reply   
I have been riding for about 2 years now going on 3. I usually ride at 70 feet about 22-23mph depending on the boat of course. I know everybody rides at different lengths and am wondering what you guys ride out? how big of a difference does rope length make?
Old     (simplej)      Join Date: Sep 2011       03-05-2013, 5:33 AM Reply   
This is 100% dependent on the boat and your skill set... I like riding slower and shorter. If I can get a clean wake at 22-23, I use it and size the rope up last clean point on the wake. It's more fun to me to go big because you're not going as fast and there is slightly less risk involved, my boat is also small so it churns out its meanest wake in the 22-23 range, vs some other boats that really get mean at 23+ that said on the rzr I run 65 at 22. X25 if slammed 75-80 23 stock 70-75 at 22. Etc etc...
Old     (jtiblier123)      Join Date: Jan 2011       03-05-2013, 5:38 AM Reply   
There are multiple posts containing info on this topic.

In my opinion, the average beginner to intermediate tends to learn a little quicker with a shorter rope (65 feet) solely because they don't have to travel very far in order to cross the wake. It allows the rider to focus on line tension and not speed. Line tension gets you air...speed just sets you up for a different approach for certain tricks.

Most advanced riders who ride with weight in the boat ride about 23-25 mph, with a 75-80 foot rope.