Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through August 01, 2004

Old    woopededoo            06-19-2004, 8:26 PM Reply   
I am thinking of purchasing a 2004 Moomba Outback as my first boat. I am new to all of this, so I am not real sure of a lot of things with boating.

I have a 2002 v6 f-150 supercab, manual tranny, with a 3.55 rear end. Will this be able to tow the Outback I am thinking of getting?
Old     (magic)      Join Date: Mar 2002       06-19-2004, 8:55 PM Reply   
Yes it will tow it. You'll be a bit hard on the clutch at times and don't even expect to hold 65 mph up any hills on the freeway.

I'd be carefull stopping on step hills, it will be very hard to get going again without some serious clutch abuse.

I'm sure that you'll hear get a V-8 with 3.73 or higher rearend. And, yes that will tow better.
Old     (vortech347)      Join Date: Aug 2000       06-20-2004, 7:55 PM Reply   
Tow rating on a V6 5 speed is 3500 pounds so yes it will tow it.

Just don't expect it to tow it well.
Old    ilovetrains            06-21-2004, 7:02 AM Reply   
Kevin,

Your truck is big enough that the Outback will not be jerking you around. Should have no problem braking. I think you already get the idea that you are kinda sparse on low end grunt. I am assuming you have 2WD. You might think about having your rear end gears changed. It should cost you between 200-350 depending on where you go, and you will probably lose 2 mpg highway unloaded, but it will give you a great boost on power.
Old     (magic)      Join Date: Mar 2002       06-21-2004, 7:40 AM Reply   
An other thing too... you have a lightweight rear end on that truck. Change the rear diff. fluid pretty often and going to synth gear oil will help a little too.