Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through April 21, 2006

Old    tomekrys            04-15-2006, 6:07 PM Reply   
Just put my boat in the water and it started overheating right away. What could this be from? I'm thinking either the impeller or thermostat failing? I hooked up to a fake a lake and there was almost no water coming out the exhaust but this still doesn't tell me what my problem is I don't think. How ofter do impellers fail? I think this one was just replaced. I'm new to boats and especially inboards. Any help would be appreciated.
Old    tomekrys            04-15-2006, 6:14 PM Reply   
Oh yeah its a 1994 Malibu Echelon DD. Is there a filter for the incoming water possibly? I doesn't look like my boat has one.
Old    walt            04-15-2006, 6:35 PM Reply   
I'd check the impeller first.
Old     (cvnrides)      Join Date: Feb 2006       04-15-2006, 6:46 PM Reply   
Your boat may have a screen in line at the transmission cooler. Follow the hose from the impeller housing toward the pickup point in the hull. There should be metal splice in the line that the transmission lines hook to also. Pull the hose apart and check for trash (sticks, leaves etc.) if that is clear it is most likely the impeller. I have had this problem with two different boats MC and Supra mostly during early season when water has more trash.
Old     (mobv)      Join Date: Jun 2002       04-15-2006, 7:11 PM Reply   
Very seldom is the thermostat on a boat, it can happen. Most likely is the impeller or a restriction in the intake line. If the impeller is nearly new a restriction in the line could cause the impeller to fail. I had trash plug the oil cooler that caused overheating.