Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through February 23, 2009

Old     (the_horror_that_is)      Join Date: Jan 2009       01-16-2009, 6:17 PM Reply   
Hi,

I'm new to this forum, but was just wanting to share my experience, and see if this is an uncommon injury, or if I'm doing something wrong.

I'm pretty new to wakeboarding, so haven't got into doing tricks or anything really yet.

When the skipper was fooling around a bit, the rope got a lot of slack and then he suddenly took off, I fell back at some point and the wakeboard boots slipped off and the board hit me in the face, leaving me concussed for a moment and I later found out it fractured, a bone above, below and behind my right eye. I presume I just fell on a bad angle for the boots to slip off, but are they supposed to be a lot tighter than this?

Here's a pic. - Upload
Old     (mofreestyle)      Join Date: Jan 2006       01-16-2009, 6:24 PM Reply   
Personally I don't like my board to ever come off. So my bindings are very tight but there has been a lot of discussion on which is safer. Some people prefer to come out of the bindings on a hard wreck but most like to stay attached to the board. It's kind of personal preference but either way you don't want to have one foot out and one in. This can really tear up knees.
Old    walt            01-16-2009, 6:35 PM Reply   
That doesn't look like fun.

I'm glad you're ok.
Old     (texastbird)      Join Date: May 2003       01-16-2009, 6:41 PM Reply   
Your skipper is doing something wrong. He shouldn't be fooling around when somebody is riding. He should be concentrating on driving in a straight course at a constant speed.

Be safe out there.
Old     (wakerider111)      Join Date: Jul 2006       01-16-2009, 7:30 PM Reply   
DANG! OUCH!