Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakesurfing

Old     (dantampa)      Join Date: Sep 2009       09-08-2009, 11:51 AM Reply   
Hello All,
Its my first time posting. First let me say that i appreciate all the knowledge that is shared on this board. It really helped me and my friends in the beginning and still does throughout my progression in this sport. So here goes:

I have been wakesurfing for about a year now behind my SANTE 220. I use both wakeskim and wakesurf boards. I am decent on both. I have never surfed in the ocean and am headed to Costa Rica in december for two weeks to learn. Will my wakesurfing experience help ease the transition from behind boat to ocean surfing? Also i have a few months left to prepare, i plan on riding at least three days a week from here on out. Is there any thing i should be working on to help make the transition easier. Thanks Again.
Old     (nwrider)      Join Date: Oct 2002       09-08-2009, 12:11 PM Reply   
i wakesurf a ton, and snowboard all winter long, after taking a two hour surf lesson in sandiego a couple of years ago, i caught three waves, and rode straight down the wave face. So no wakesurfing you are crossing the wave face which is the same as surfing but i would assume it comes later in your surf career, your first few times will be figuring out timing of your drop in, then when and where to pop up and then finding your balance.Then you will probally start going across the wave, more like wakesurfing. I couldn't drive a car for three days, from all the paddleing i did. Start swimming in a pool now!!!!. Ocean surfing should be called, paddling with occasional standups! have fun

(Message edited by nwrider on September 08, 2009)
Old     (dbh_brad)      Join Date: Sep 2008       09-08-2009, 8:17 PM Reply