Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Wakeboarding Discussion Archives > Archive through April 17, 2007

Old     (dgoulet)      Join Date: Aug 2006       03-30-2007, 8:34 AM Reply   
I am looking to either buy the open toe 07 shane or watson bindings. I heard the watson is stiffer than the shane, but what does that translate into? less comfort, more response, etc?? By the way this question might be dumb to a lot of you guys but I am just starting out so I don't know anything about wakeboarding.
Thanks
Old     (gimp990)      Join Date: Mar 2007       03-30-2007, 9:03 AM Reply   
they will be just as comfortable as the shanes. they will be a little more responsive. I ride the shanes and they are pretty stiff and suportive. They both are good it is just what you prefer. If you can hit some tweeked out grabs with stiff bindings the i would get the watson but if you cant (like me) then go with the shanes they have just enough flex for me to tweek out my grabs. The watsons come up higher in the ankle than the shanes do.
Old     (dgoulet)      Join Date: Aug 2006       03-31-2007, 9:16 AM Reply   
can anyone else help me out?
thanks
Old     (bailey)      Join Date: May 2001       03-31-2007, 9:55 AM Reply   
I think binding stiffness is all personal preference. I have damaged my ankles wakeboarding so I need very stiff binding to keep from being reinjured. I don't really care about boning out grabs I just want to be able to walk afterwards. I don't think you will notice much difference in the response. Try a stiff binding and see if you think you need/like it and then make your decision.
Old     (tantrum20)      Join Date: Nov 2001       04-01-2007, 9:04 AM Reply