Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Old     (TheHebrewHammer)      Join Date: Jun 2011       06-18-2011, 9:56 AM Reply   
Hey y'all,

I'm a journalism student and I'm writing a feature story about adaptive waterskiiers/wakeboarders/sitskiiers. I am an able bodied rider, and my coach has been working with adaptive skiiers for 25 years. We regularly ride with a paraplegic sitskiier and a blind wakeboarder/kneeboarder, and they inspire me to push through my struggles with my own riding.

I will be working with them on the story to learn what it's like to overcome disability to pursue wakeboarding, but I would love to learn what I can from y'all as well.

Below are some of the things I want to learn about adaptive skiing/skiiers, but these questions are just suggestions. Feel free to answer any, all, or none of them. Tell me your stories, fun facts, jokes, or some things I might not know about adaptive skiing. I'd be extremely grateful for anything you're willing to contribute!

If you're not an adaptive skiier, but you know someone who is or know something about the sport, I'd love to hear from you too!

If you're willing to have your full name published, please give it. If not, that's fine too! If you'd be willing/rather to talk to me via phone/email/pm, just let me know! If you're in the St. Petersburg/Tampa area, I'd love to talk to you in person or maybe even ride with you! Thanks so much!

1. Were you an athlete or an extreme sports athlete or a risk taker before you were disabled? How/when did you become disabled? How did this initially affect your confidence/personality/world view? Did it make you a stronger person in the long run?