Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through April 26, 2009

Old     (j_money)      Join Date: May 2006       04-04-2009, 2:06 PM Reply   
So I get the whole concept of distributing the weight threw the boat equally, and how not to overweight the front or the back. But I need just a little input on how putting weight in the middle of the boat affects weight shape at all. Say your running 1500 lbs. of extra ballast. Whats the difference between putting say 900 out back and 600 up front compared to putting say 500 out back 700 on either side and 300 in the bow?!?!? seems to me the boat would still sit about the same in the water... Im guessing its because the bow would maybe sit a tish higher the second way but im kinda new to the whole weighting the boat down so just thought I would ask the experts to be clear. Thanks for the input guys!!! :-)
Old     (mbsteez)      Join Date: May 2005       04-04-2009, 4:43 PM Reply   
I'd say the bottom line is try it out, if the wake is too sharp/abrupt for your liking, move weight forward. If you want more lip/abruptness to it, move weight backwards. You need to play with it to figure out what YOU like.

Spreading the weight out bow/mid/rear also spreads out the stress on the boat better than bow/rear.
Old     (bhyatt_ohp)      Join Date: Oct 2007       04-04-2009, 5:13 PM Reply