Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through July 11, 2007

Old     (zorro)      Join Date: Jan 2005       06-21-2007, 12:39 AM Reply   
I have a Mastercraft Prostar and recently the engine does not start after switching it off so in practice it does not start when warmed up.
What happens is that the starter motor does not even turn when the ignition key is switched to the start position. The starter motor seems dead. This goes on for a while and then when the engine cools down suddenly the starter motor is still alive and the engine immediately starts.
I had the starter motor checked and everyting was fine. This happens only when the engine is warmed up because when it is cold I do not have any problem with the starter motor.
Any ideas?
Old     (peter_c)      Join Date: Sep 2001       06-21-2007, 1:06 AM Reply   
How many volts are at the in and out of the starter soleniod? Holding the key in the crank position can you rap on the soleniod and get it to fire?
Old     (zorro)      Join Date: Jan 2005       06-21-2007, 1:22 AM Reply   
I do not know how many volts are there. I will have to measure. When I hold the key in the crank position and the engine is warm the starter motor does not operate at all. I do not even hear any "click" coming from the starter motor. It is completely silent and obviously the engine does not crank.
I then have to wait for a while (about 15 minutes) and suddenly everything works again.
Old     (nbeihl)      Join Date: Mar 2004       06-21-2007, 4:40 AM Reply   
Either you have a bad starter or you are not getting the correct voltage to the starter.
Old     (zorro)      Join Date: Jan 2005       06-21-2007, 5:03 AM Reply