Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through June 08, 2008

Old     (robandrus)      Join Date: Feb 2002       05-16-2008, 6:53 PM Reply   
Thinking more about this as prices continue to fly out of control. People have run cars on compressed natural gas or propane for years, a little less horse power, but with the right equipment you can actually pump it from your house for under a buck a gallon or gge (gallon of gas equivalent). Supposedly the install is easy if you have a carbed boat (I do) but more expensive if you're efi, but they make trucks, vans and busses run on the stuff. I was just reading about the stuff today, and I'm not an expert at all, but maybe somebody on here knows more.
Old     (mhayes)      Join Date: Jul 2004       05-16-2008, 6:59 PM Reply   
Rob, good point, and I'm sure that this has been thought about at the major marine engine manufacturers. I believe that this is pretty commonplace in the UK and would be great to implement in the US. I know here in ATL, most all of the mass transit buses run on CNG.
Old     (ethan31)      Join Date: Jun 2007       05-16-2008, 7:19 PM Reply   
I hear ford for 09' will have some propane trucks.

All the schwans trucks are propane.
Propane here is $2.19 a gallon. Helluva alot cheaper than gas. I'm all for it.
Old     (mikeski)      Join Date: Aug 2003       05-16-2008, 11:55 PM Reply   
Figure a 20% power loss with Propane, conversion kits are readily available.
Old     (malibuboarder75)      Join Date: Jan 2004       05-17-2008, 6:09 AM Reply   
Anyone know a good company to find a kit?
Old     (04outback)      Join Date: Jul 2007       05-17-2008, 6:53 AM Reply   
This guys runs LPG in his 08 Mobius LSV
http://www.wakesiderides.com/rides/index.php?page=out&id=2947