Articles

Pics/Video

Wake 101

Shop
Search

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Video and Photography

Old     (dcervenka)      Join Date: Sep 2002       01-14-2010, 3:12 PM Reply   
Upload

So I have a friend of a friend that has some serious hard-diskitis... is this normal?

I'm also getting a case of the External-Driveitis.. so I started playing around with FreeNAS and now I'm looking into lime-technology's UnRaid for a possible NAS storage solution to consolidate this mess.

I have redundant backups with some onsite and others in the safe deposit box, but I'm curious if anyone is using a service like backblaze.com, mozy.com, carbonite.com, onlinestoragesolution.com, etc.. for online storage backups? Most run around $60 for a year (and claim unlimited storage, but the drive has to be attached to the machine.. so no NAS, network/,mapped drives)
Old     (cali_rider)      Join Date: Feb 2004       01-14-2010, 4:53 PM Reply   
yo fu - I easliy have over 25 tbs for my client and i just raid 5 everything, once the footage has been used to its year limit i dump to externals....

With that said, raid 5 or 6 for a master raid is the best way i think, then have a similar set up as your safety else where....

If you do the online way let me know how it goes, that sounds like an interesting option.

-TV
Old     (dcervenka)      Join Date: Sep 2002       01-14-2010, 8:06 PM Reply   
Thanks Travis! Is that 25 TB in one system or a total of HDs that you've collected over the years?