For those who don't like links.
Like the Oregon law, the Washington law will have a phased-in period for compliance. By Jan. 1, 2008, boaters 20 years of age and younger will be required to obtain their Boater Education Card. Then by Jan. 1, 2009, it will be boaters 25 years of age or younger will be required to obtain their Boater Education Card. The phased-in period for compliance will continue until 2016 for various age groups. Boaters born before Jan. 1, 1955, are exempt from having to obtain a Boater Education Card.
Operators without a Boater Education Card may operate a boat provided they are under the supervision of an adult with a Boater Education Card. Purchasers of new and used boats may operate their boats immediately and have 60 days after their purchase to obtain a Boater Education Card so long as they are carrying their Bill of Sale or vessel registration document. Boater Education Cards issued by other states will be recognized in Washington and the Washington Boater Education Card will be recognized in other states and Canada.
The Washington State Parks & Recreation Commission's Boating Safety Program will administer the provisions of the new law. The administration of the law is totally supported by the $10 Boater Education Card user fee. The program is funded by boaters for boaters