Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through May 19, 2006

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Steve LeBlanc (leblanc1)      Join Date: Apr 2006       05-15-2006, 11:55 AM Reply   
Stereo is perfectly fine with ignition off, but as soon as I turn the key to the acc position (before starting motor) I get a sick squeel from the sub, and sub only. It's intermittent too. When I play with the wire that goes from my ignition switch to the circuit breaker, and the wire that goes from that same circuit breaker up to the wire bundle, it comes and goes. I've removed the circuit breaker from the loop and connected the ends of the wires together and it's still there. What on the dash gives off a signal and why would it only affect my sub? I'm thinking one of my guages might be causing this? My sub and sub amp are mounted under the driver dash.
Old    Mike (nauty_tique)      Join Date: Nov 2005       05-15-2006, 5:45 PM Reply   
I'm sure you'll get some better help here in a bit but from what I know, you need to make sure your pre-amps aren't near or touching the power and ground cables to the amp or anything else for that matter, need to try and have your "RCA" cables away from any power wires. Hope this helps.
Old    Steve LeBlanc (leblanc1)      Join Date: Apr 2006       05-15-2006, 11:12 PM Reply   
I disconnected my RCA's with the same result. Thoughts anyone?
Old    Adam Curtis (acurtis_ttu)      Join Date: May 2004       05-16-2006, 7:35 AM Reply   
Do you have an eq in your system? What "wire" are you talking about? I'm assuming it might be the switched power wire. How are the power/grounds run to your stereo? And on your sub amp? Could that wire be loose from it's source? I've seen loose power wires cause buzzing from subs. When you shake that wire (that stops the sub "squeel") are you touching any of the RCA's?
Old    Steve LeBlanc (leblanc1)      Join Date: Apr 2006       05-16-2006, 1:14 PM Reply   
No EQ. The wire I'm talking about goes from the ignition, to a circuit breaker then up to the factory wire bundle. When I bend and pull and push that wire as it goes into the wire bundle, the whine comes and goes. I pulled the RCA's out of the amp and it was still whining. Power wire from distribution block to amp is tight at both ends. I'll look further this evening.
Old    Adam Curtis (acurtis_ttu)      Join Date: May 2004       05-16-2006, 1:26 PM Reply   
more than liekly that wire is loose somewhere. trace it back and find wher it's connected to. I had the same probolem with my eq.....the ground and remtoe wires where both good connections btu the power was nto, everythign lit up ont he eq and showed it working, but I got a "buzz" not a "whine". soudns liek it's loose or a bad connection. Do you have a voltmeter to test the wire?
Old    Peter_C (peter_c)      Join Date: Sep 2001       05-16-2006, 2:45 PM Reply   
Rewire the whole thing, with a direct wire to the amp from the battery, just make sure you have a fuse near the battery. The amp is switched by the head unit on and off, unless you have something screwy going on.
Old    Steve LeBlanc (leblanc1)      Join Date: Apr 2006       05-16-2006, 8:24 PM Reply   
The amp is direct wired to the battery for power and ground and there's a fuse at the battery. The amp gets its remote turn on from the HU and the head unit is not tied into the ignition, it gets its power direct from battery as well. The thing is, it's intermittent. I can't get it to duplicate at home now. Again, the engine does not have to be running to get the noise. I'm almost certain it's a loose wire or something is making contact somewhere because it comes and goes as I push the wires around. Still looking.
Old     (nbeihl)      Join Date: Mar 2004       05-16-2006, 9:21 PM Reply   
You can always get an inline filter from radio shack and that should take care of your problem. It will be $15 or less!
Old    Adam Curtis (acurtis_ttu)      Join Date: May 2004       05-17-2006, 7:34 AM Reply   
Dont' re-wire the whoel thing. That wire yoru "wigggling" is lose and causing that noise. You need to re-connect that wire....even if the connection looks good re-do it. I woudl bet the noise goes away. the filters nbeihl are talkign about are just band-aids and don't fix the problems....they are for ground loop problems. This does not appear to be a ground loop.
Old    Jay (jayc)      Join Date: Sep 2002       05-17-2006, 10:09 AM Reply   
My perfect pass causes interference on the radio, nothing when on CD though.

I re routed the aerial cable and its better but still there.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 1:59 PM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us