Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > >> Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles Archive > Archive through July 08, 2003

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Wes (pesos)      Join Date: Oct 2001       04-29-2003, 10:31 AM Reply   
about to break down a buy a new ipod when they release this friday. anyone know if the clarion HU in my team has an aux in I can use to directly run it in? or will i need some kind of adapter?

thanks,
Wes
Old    whitechocolate            04-29-2003, 12:36 PM Reply   
Wes I know the Stock Clarion Head unit does not have a AUX or Any aux RCAs. It has front and rear output RCA's only, The back of the unit has "Wait a Min" The back of the unit has a Imput for the 6 disk changer and on the deck if you push the function button 2 times you will get the imput from the 6 disk changer. It's a long shot my friend, I would call clarion and ask if there is a adaptor that changes the 6 disk imput into a RCA or headphone jack. It would be a adaptor the looks like a 6 pin din style into RCA
If not what you can or will have to buy is a Pre-Amp. This will be good for 3 reasons. One you will now have a EQ with seprate Bass control and #2 a Fader Front to rear you can use this fader to change or raise lower the volume betwen the tower and the hull speakers, and #3 you will get a Aux imput with a switch when your using your I pod just hit the switch. You can get a Rockford Fosgate PA-2 (This is what I have been describing) for around $150 thats what I have and use it work great
Old    Wes (pesos)      Join Date: Oct 2001       04-29-2003, 1:58 PM Reply   
sounds like the way to go... thanks grant =)
Old    JCrave (s4inor)      Join Date: Mar 2002       04-29-2003, 2:16 PM Reply   
There are adapters that have RCAs and "trick" the headunit into thinking there is a headunit attached.

I would call Scorsche and some of the other adpater manufactures if Clarion doesn't work out for you.
Old    hbomb            04-29-2003, 4:57 PM Reply   
Wes, get a FM transmitter if you don't have the hook ups. I ordered one through griffintechnology.com It's called an iTrip. They will start shipping in May sometime. With the FM transmitter you can use it on any system.
Old    Wes (pesos)      Join Date: Oct 2001       04-29-2003, 5:32 PM Reply   
yep, i've seen em. but i haven't been impressed with the fidelity of the fm method... i think i'll stick w/the wired option...

thanks though =)
Old    bigd            04-29-2003, 5:49 PM Reply   
FM blows...
Old    hbomb            05-20-2003, 7:56 PM Reply   
Wes, did you get your iPod to work with your Clarion???? I also have a 2002 Team edition and an iPod. I would like to wire mine as well. I tried the FM transmitter and it really does blow. Bob was right...
Old    Wes (pesos)      Join Date: Oct 2001       05-21-2003, 10:20 AM Reply   
haven't had time to play with it yet. there is a BMWpila converter thing that will allow me to convert the factory bmw cd changer harness to RCAs, so that will work for my car. but i dunno if there is something similar for the clarion setup in the boat. I'm tempted to just burn a bunch of boat cds instead of bothering with getting the ipod up and running in it and worrying about protecting it from the elements. we'll see...
Old    whitechocolate            05-21-2003, 4:09 PM Reply   
"kenwood music keg" check it out Im getting one
F burning CD's Boat CD get thrashed Quick "How" Duno!!!
Old    Timothy (timmy)      Join Date: Jul 2001       05-21-2003, 4:42 PM Reply   
this is why there are cd/mp3 decks. 10 hours of music on one cd.
Old    Tony Neal (aneal000)      Join Date: Feb 2002       05-22-2003, 6:29 AM Reply   
Yeah but ipods don't skip!

Just a thought, the wireless FM modulators suck pretty bad. They make wired ones, that actually connect to the antenna of your receiver. They work better than the wireless ones, but can still only achieve the frequency response of the receiver, which is typically less than that of a cd or other digital media.

I know their used to be EQ's that had extra inputs. Not for sure what is on the market today, but I would think you could find something that would give you an input to your system.
Old    Timothy (timmy)      Join Date: Jul 2001       05-22-2003, 12:29 PM Reply   
my cd/mp3 very rarely skips. pretty much only on double ups so that is a non issue! :-)
Old    carl beck (mainelaker)      Join Date: Feb 2003       05-23-2003, 3:18 AM Reply   
I just purchased an adapter for my Alpine in my truck. It converts their Ai-Net CD changer input to RCA. It is made by Alpine & I picked mine up at Tweeter.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 6:31 PM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us