Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    BLAIR BARHAM (jonblarc7)      Join Date: Jul 2006       07-23-2013, 7:23 AM Reply   
Might be a stupid question but the stock set up on my interior speakers is all six of them are running off the head unit. Would that cause the whole system to clip when you turn up the volume.

My problem is just installed my REV 10s and I tried tuning for a while last week until I ran out of time. So yesterday I go back to finish dialing them in(with out recharging the battery) and now instead of being able to turn the volume up to 30 (it goes to 35) it cuts out at 22 or 23 now.

I know it could be a bunch of things but I would think since its cutting out both amps its probably the head unit trying to push six speakers.

Would it help to disconnect the bow speakers for now until we close on our new house. Then I can buy a one more amp for the sub and run the interior off the kenwood that runs the sub now.
Old    John Bauer (jonyb)      Join Date: Nov 2008       07-23-2013, 7:28 AM Reply   
When you say "it cuts out", do you mean that you lose power to the radio and amps?

First, you need to charge the battery. If it's not recharged and you run it too low, you'll take the chance at killing it and it won't hold a charge afterwards.
Before it "cuts out", do the lights on the head unit flicker, or go dim?

You really need to get an amp for the interior speakers. That head unit is about 7W at the most.
Old    Brad Morring (BradM07SS)      Join Date: Jul 2011       07-23-2013, 9:39 AM Reply   
Check your remote turn on wire. I bet thats the problem.
Old    BLAIR BARHAM (jonblarc7)      Join Date: Jul 2006       07-23-2013, 10:07 AM Reply   
You think it's loose
Old    Earmark Marine (david_e_m)      Join Date: Jul 2008       07-23-2013, 10:36 AM Reply   
During that Supra/Moomba era it was common to see two 4-ohm speakers wired in parallel to each of two channels of the Kenwood HU. If that is the case on the four cockpit speakers, then this needs to be converted from parallel (2-ohm load) to series (8-ohm load). In theory you would get more power at 2-ohms. But at 2-ohms the BTL type HU amplifier is unstable, will fall flat on its face prematurely and particularly hard. In actuality you will play much louder at 8-ohms versus 2-ohms with the HU. The bow is typically a dedicated speaker per channel for a safe 4-ohm load and is not the problem.
Sounds like your issue is compounded by low voltage.
In any case, eventually you really need an external amplifier for the six in-boat speakers. As it stands now, In order to keep the HU from hard clipping first you have to inordinately gain up the tower amplifier which raises the noise floor. Plus, without an external amplifier you do not have full zone control. You can run six speakers with a two channel amplifier in a series/parallel configuration and have a fairly even distribution of power. Although, you are better off with a four channel amplifier for the in-boats.

David
Old    Brad Morring (BradM07SS)      Join Date: Jul 2011       07-23-2013, 11:05 AM Reply   
Was it cutting out before you add the rev 10's and amp?

When I hook up my eq mine was doing the same thing crank the volume up and the eq would cut off. The remote wire was loose where I had taped into the hu remote wire.
Old    BLAIR BARHAM (jonblarc7)      Join Date: Jul 2006       07-23-2013, 11:30 AM Reply   
It was but I thought back then that one amp was running 6 boat speakers 4 6.4 tower speakers and the sub. I knew the revs would need there own amp so I thought this would help distribute the power better in the boat. But during the install I realized all the boat speakers were run off the head unit so in a time crunch I wired the sub off the one amp and left the in boats hooked up to the head unit.

Could I go back and under power the kenwood sub and run it off the channel 3-4 like it was before and run the in boats of 1-2 like the tower was set up before.

As soon as we close on this house I will add an amp, I'm just trying to find something to help right now.
Old    BLAIR BARHAM (jonblarc7)      Join Date: Jul 2006       07-25-2013, 6:41 PM Reply   
It's official I charged the battery and unhook the sub and tower amp RCA's and turned up the volume with just the head unit pushing the in boats and it clipped at the same spot. So my short term fix is to move the sub back to channels 3-4 and run the four inboat In the middle of the boat off channels 1-2. Until I can get a sub amp and just use the 4 channel kenwood for the inboats
Old    Frank Berg (Iceberg)      Join Date: Dec 2011       07-26-2013, 6:14 AM Reply   
David nailed it! The load and distortion (stability) of the amp are critical. If you want a louder system, it is better to search out more efficient speakers combined with properly loaded amps.
Old    Earmark Marine (david_e_m)      Join Date: Jul 2008       07-26-2013, 7:58 AM Reply   
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonblarc7 View Post
It's official I charged the battery and unhook the sub and tower amp RCA's and turned up the volume with just the head unit pushing the in boats and it clipped at the same spot. So my short term fix is to move the sub back to channels 3-4 and run the four inboat In the middle of the boat off channels 1-2. Until I can get a sub amp and just use the 4 channel kenwood for the inboats
Good call.
Another consideration is that you will never have good bass tonal construction until the midbass from the coaxials are in balance with the subwoofer. You derive most of the bass pitch accuracy from the upper harmonics which are in the realm of the coaxials. You'll never have balance with the coaxials driven from HU power. So the moment you add a subwoofer, you must power the in-boat coaxials with external amplification.

David
Old    BLAIR BARHAM (jonblarc7)      Join Date: Jul 2006       07-26-2013, 8:15 AM Reply   
Thanks for all the help guys, I've learn so much more about installing a stereo than I ever thought I would.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 5:57 AM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us