Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    CORY MITCHELL (stang_killa_ss)      Join Date: Jan 2010       07-03-2013, 9:03 AM Reply   
looking to pick up a new (shorter) rope for new tricks.
im tired of tieing loops in my ronix ropes and it destroying the casing and riping it off.

heres what im looking for a 50-55' main line. with two 2.5 foot add-ons, and one or two 5 foot add-ons.

when shoping alot of lines only list the total length. not main line. and the shortest ive been able to find so far is 60' id really like a 55' main.

anyone know of one? any help would be greatly appreciated.
Old    Austin (austin)      Join Date: Apr 2010       07-03-2013, 10:01 AM Reply   
Not sure that you can find a 50-55' line AND 2.5 add-ons in the same product. Anyway here's a really short main line with all 5' add-ons:
http://www.bartswatersports.com/cata...5127/index.asp
Old    CORY MITCHELL (stang_killa_ss)      Join Date: Jan 2010       07-03-2013, 10:08 AM Reply   
i could probly scroung up some old 2.5 sections from old lines and freinds. thats a good point. the shorter mainline is the main thing im after.

edit: just checked your link. should have mentioned i want a thin zero stretch dyneema/spectra line. not a oldschool ski/tube rope.
Old    A-dub (behindtheboat)      Join Date: Aug 2006       07-03-2013, 10:21 AM Reply   
I have some old Nevin lines that go 50-55-60'. Let me know if you're interested.
Old    CORY MITCHELL (stang_killa_ss)      Join Date: Jan 2010       07-03-2013, 12:02 PM Reply   
definatly am.

pics and price?
Old     (john)      Join Date: Apr 2002       07-03-2013, 3:23 PM Reply   
Just happened to order one for myself earlier today.

http://www.evo.com/outlet/ropes/roni...lack_Image.jpg
Old    A-dub (behindtheboat)      Join Date: Aug 2006       07-05-2013, 2:05 PM Reply   
I'll get it to you, sending a PM. If you ride at BSR anytime soon could avoid shipping
Old    CORY MITCHELL (stang_killa_ss)      Join Date: Jan 2010       07-05-2013, 2:43 PM Reply   
i would also be interested in anyones extra 2.5' sections.
Old     (simplej)      Join Date: Sep 2011       07-05-2013, 3:28 PM Reply   
You know how to knot your rope onto the tower without ruining it right? (So long as it isn't coated)
Old     (JetRanger)      Join Date: Feb 2013       07-05-2013, 5:02 PM Reply   
Google "clove hitch." It's essentially two half hitches on each other reversed and should hold for any line. If it does slip just do a second one. It's a hitch and not a knot (knot a not) therefore won't wreck your rope.

You are welcome.
Old    CORY MITCHELL (stang_killa_ss)      Join Date: Jan 2010       07-05-2013, 5:52 PM Reply   
been using butterfly knots.
yes line is coated.

according to Wikipedia the clove hitch is a knot, and will slip under load.

i definatly appreciate the info, it was new to me but not really what im looking for. ive been looping/knotting my current rope. i want to go to a shorter line with short extentions for adjustability for different riding types (learning vs show off pass) and different boats/wakes.

Last edited by stang_killa_ss; 07-05-2013 at 5:56 PM.
Old    Jason Callen (westsidarider)      Join Date: Feb 2003       07-05-2013, 7:16 PM Reply   
There's a great way to make a loop wherever you want without tying a knot. Pick your location and make a loop, then twist it a bunch, then pull the twisted lines through the loop just enough to make another loop. Fit that new loop over the mount on your tower and pull tight. Boom- no knots and no ruining the coating. I do it all the time
Old    Ron (Nordicron)      Join Date: Aug 2011       07-05-2013, 8:19 PM Reply   
Quote:
Originally Posted by westsidarider View Post
There's a great way to make a loop wherever you want without tying a knot. Pick your location and make a loop, then twist it a bunch, then pull the twisted lines through the loop just enough to make another loop. Fit that new loop over the mount on your tower and pull tight. Boom- no knots and no ruining the coating. I do it all the time
I'm not following. Any chance you can post a quick vid?
Old    Bcd D (bcd)      Join Date: Jun 2012       07-05-2013, 8:39 PM Reply   
I just use my old 75' foot line that someone not to be named wrapped up in the prop.
Old     (simplej)      Join Date: Sep 2011       07-05-2013, 9:09 PM Reply   
I will post a vid tomorrow. Works extremely well. It will rip the coating off your line though, it is not a clove hitch, it's essentially a lighterman's hitch

Last edited by simplej; 07-05-2013 at 9:18 PM.
Old    Jason Callen (westsidarider)      Join Date: Feb 2003       07-05-2013, 9:58 PM Reply   
I've been doing it for years, going on 2 seasons with my existing line and not a flaw to be seen anywhere on the coating
Old    Delta Force (wakebordr11)      Join Date: May 2001       07-05-2013, 11:47 PM Reply   
Nobody has suggested to cut your line and make a custom length and custom extensions yet...? Sounds kooky but then you'll have exactly what you want. Buy a cheap mainline and execute... I've got a 50' main without handle but im not selling
Old    Nicolas Kohler (monkey_butt)      Join Date: Sep 2011       07-07-2013, 5:51 AM Reply   
Airhead ropes ... Has even one starting at 45 but w/o sleeve ...
http://www.amazon.com/AIRHEAD-AHWR-4...d_sim_sbs_sg_1
Old    Bill Smeltzer (runin90lx)      Join Date: Sep 2009       07-07-2013, 9:58 AM Reply   
i run an Airhead elite. 5 ft handle section, 50 ft mainline, and then 3-5ft extension sections.. 70ft total line.
Old    Tom Yokoi (countryguy1717)      Join Date: May 2013       07-08-2013, 9:24 PM Reply   
http://www.supraboats.com/bbs/showth...-rope-(w-video)

First video on this link is what I use to get 55 feet on my ski boat.
Old     (ffmedic74)      Join Date: Jun 2013       07-10-2013, 5:55 AM Reply   
Call straight line. They will custom make ropes.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
Old    M-Dizzle (liquidmx)      Join Date: Jun 2005       07-10-2013, 1:12 PM Reply   
Jet Ranger is right on...As a climber a clove hitch will work and hold. It's NOT a knot, it's a hitch...there is a very very large difference. The short of it is hitches need something to "hitch" to such as a post (I.E. Hitching post). Knots can be tied without something to tie too, like an overhand, figure eight, double figure eight, fishermans, etc. If wikipedia is saying it's classified as a knot wikipedia is flatout wrong. If you really wanna check your sources on this research "equalizing multiple anchors" on google...you will likely come across a clove hitch somewhere.

Otherwise your other options (as indicated above)...grab a rope splicing tool (less than $5) and splice yourself together a line with a 50 ft length, loops, etc. Pretty easy process just google it. At one point I had 4 or 5 spectra/dyneema lines from people who gave them away because they got chopped by the boat or something. I would take them, re-splice at a fixed length and use the extra to make 2.5 and 5ft loops and pull them tight.
Old    Chris Hernandez (CHern5972)      Join Date: Jul 2012       07-11-2013, 5:37 AM Reply   
Clove hitch for sure will work. Also a handcuff knot(not a knot its more like the clove hitch)
Old    Hate2party (slipknot)      Join Date: Aug 2001       07-11-2013, 9:25 AM Reply   
The LF Dyneema is 55 and then up to 80

http://www.boardco.com/products/1212...FSqCQgodfn4Amg
Old    Jeremy (wake77)      Join Date: Jan 2009       07-11-2013, 7:29 PM Reply   
Here you go bro:

No need to thank me bro....
Old     (simplej)      Join Date: Sep 2011       07-12-2013, 7:18 AM Reply   
That's a stretch line ^ please don't do that...
Old    Bryce (brycejb328)      Join Date: Aug 2009       07-13-2013, 9:31 AM Reply   
+1 on what nicolas said.

i have one of those airhead ropes for over 4 years. I had to verify mine was 70 foot all the way out as i started riding a different rope and made the mistake of assuming both mainlines were the same length. The main line of my new rope was 10 foot longer than the airhead one. It is nice to ride at that super short length to make baby cuts at the wake for messing around with new stuff!
Old    Adam Foster (texfrost)      Join Date: Jul 2013       07-13-2013, 10:11 AM Reply   
That's a huge upside to the bimini we use. If the line takrn in to the last mount, we just wrap it around the bimini and reattatch to the tower.
Old     (simplej)      Join Date: Sep 2011       07-13-2013, 12:14 PM Reply   
....
Old    David (99Bison)      Join Date: Sep 2012       07-13-2013, 12:30 PM Reply   
Quote:
Originally Posted by brycejb328 View Post
+1 on what nicolas said.

i have one of those airhead ropes for over 4 years. I had to verify mine was 70 foot all the way out as i started riding a different rope and made the mistake of assuming both mainlines were the same length. The main line of my new rope was 10 foot longer than the airhead one. It is nice to ride at that super short length to make baby cuts at the wake for messing around with new stuff!
++ same here, but on year one.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 1:10 PM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us