Wake 101
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old     (devildog_ra)      Join Date: Jun 2007       06-28-2012, 12:10 PM Reply   
Just curious to see who is going to participate. Ill be riding in the advanced division at Hydrous.

here is some info on the event for those who haven't heard about it
2012 Projections
Points Chase: 13 different parks and projecting over 650 riders nation wide.
Points Championship: Location still to be determined. The goal is to have well over 250 riders and become not only the largest cable wakeboard tournament, but be the largest wake tournament ever held in the U.S. (If each of the 13 teams field a full roster there would be 390 riders not including the structure only portion of the competition)

2012 Information
Be part of the United States most successful series for cable wakeboard and wakeskate tournaments ever. This series has cultivated riders like Tom Fooshee, who worked his way up the divisions on his way to becoming arguably the world’s best cable wakeboarder. The goal of the points series was to help each park improve the level of riding and continue to progress the sport. Each park will host their own five-week series and qualify riders for the National Points Championship. The cable parks embraced the idea and the series was born. 2010 Local events saw as many as 61 riders attend a single weeknight event. In 2011 that number grew to 93 riders at a local Thursday night showdown at TSR. Riders and local media were more involved than ever because of the nationwide points chase involving parks across the country made each local event part of something bigger.

Overall champions will be crowned at each of the thirteen parks determined by the rider’s best 4 out of 5 weeks. To encourage traveling, riders were allowed to compete at any of the participating parks and their scores would count towards their final point total. To qualify for the National Points Championship riders must have finished in the top five overall at their home park. The top three riders will count towards the team scoring while fourth and fifth place will be alternates but also compete individually. In 2010 Texas Ski Ranch took home the team championship fairly easily. In 2011 McCormicks and OWC narrowed the gap pushing it to the final rider of the event before the champion could be determined in Tampa. Tom Fooshee won the pro men giving TSR their second title by just 20 points (TSR 2020, McCormisck 2000.) OWC also placed in the top three in the previous two seasons.


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46 PM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home


© 2016 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us