Wake 101
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WakeWorld Home
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Wakeboarding Discussion

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old     (lives2wake)      Join Date: Apr 2002       09-16-2010, 5:25 PM Reply   
I was hoping to see who are the past winners of this award. I was curious because I can't remember if Zane Schwenk has won the award or not.
Old     (alevitt)      Join Date: Aug 2006       09-16-2010, 5:44 PM Reply   
Zane won two or three years ago. Pretty sure the list is Zane, Byerly, Gator, Murray, Nelson, Shapiro and Parks
Old     (BIZZWSR)      Join Date: Aug 2010       09-16-2010, 6:12 PM Reply   
Gregg Necrason needs to win that next year. He is long overdue. A true Legend.
Old     (alevitt)      Join Date: Aug 2006       09-16-2010, 9:08 PM Reply   
I voted for Thomas Horrell this year, another guy who needs to get in sooner or later.
Old    mojo            09-16-2010, 9:44 PM Reply   
horrell for president.
Old     (lfadam)      Join Date: Nov 2008       09-16-2010, 10:31 PM Reply   
Randall Harris.
Old     (electricsnow)      Join Date: May 2002       09-16-2010, 10:36 PM Reply   
I've voted for thomas for the past 4 years or so...he's well overdue and I honestly can't believe certain people would win that award before thomas. to completely pioneer a boardsport and set it on a path that's so right on, not to mention how he rode a wakeboard and pushed that aspect...wakeskating didn't really deal with the style/internal conflicts among riders that wakeboarding did (skiboarding vs wakeboarding; skiboarders talking **** about wakeboarding before they ended up making their career on wakeboarding, which is totally ironic in this category but I'll leave it at that). thomas is the first wakeboarder that committed 100% to wakeskating...other people have invested their time and are currently doing their part, but I can't ignore thomas' contribution and commitment. Anyway, I'm sure a bunch of it has to do with him not being in wake anymore, but I dont' think he should be punished for that. why hold onto something if there are other things in life that make you happy?
Old     (lives2wake)      Join Date: Apr 2002       09-18-2010, 5:23 PM Reply   
Horrel and Necrason are both great candidates. Who else could win in the next few years? Might have to start awarding this prize every couple years.
Old     (ryan_shima1)      Join Date: Sep 2002       09-19-2010, 11:24 AM Reply   
What about Perez or Andrea Gaytan?
Old     (scbrips)      Join Date: Mar 2006       09-20-2010, 12:01 PM Reply   
Horrell for sure - huge accomplishments in both wakeboarding and wakeskating.

I would definitely say Erich Schmaltz deserves this award. Wrap it up, B!

+1 for Andrea Gaytan. Huge pioneer for the women and an extremely talented rider. She was busting switch heel handle pass 5s on directionals back in the day. Not to mention she got kicked out of the '97 X-Games and the remaining PWT events for swearing. F*ck the poe-leece!

I also think that CC Roberts deserves this award. He had one of the sickest styles back in the day and he's still one of my favorite riders. Look at his melan 3 off the DU in the HIT IT! intro. F*cking sick. Even after the terrible injuries he sustained in '97, he has remained involved in the sport. How many paralyzed riders have you seen hit a rail?

Last edited by scbrips; 09-20-2010 at 12:06 PM.
Old     (electricsnow)      Join Date: May 2002       09-10-2011, 1:30 PM Reply   
I'm bumping this because I'm so happy to hear that thomas finally made it into the legend club!
Old     (daveronix199)      Join Date: Feb 2009       09-10-2011, 6:45 PM Reply   
I donno there are alot of guys that could be legends like Watson or harf... They ain't washed up but they forever changed the sport
Old     (TheHebrewHammer)      Join Date: Jun 2011       09-10-2011, 6:59 PM Reply   
Watson and Harf's time will come, but that's way in the future. They're still like 10 years away from stepping back from the sport and leaving their legacies.
Old     (electricsnow)      Join Date: May 2002       09-11-2011, 12:00 AM Reply   
you don't have to be washed up to be a legend (look at parks or murray or even byerly), but I don't think harf and watson are there yet. I certainly wouldn't compare them to someone like thomas or byerly quite yet. but maybe we have different ideas for what makes up a legend.


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 1:01 AM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home


© 2016 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us