Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Mike Parker (roughrivermike)      Join Date: Apr 2006       06-03-2011, 5:39 AM Reply   
I'm having a hard time getting my pro-80's to sound good. This is my 4th boat with the same set-up so its not my first rodeo. The head unit should not be a factor because I am using an Ipod going directly into the aux port on the back of my WS420. My components are all wetsounds:

4 pro 80's, a syn 2 amp, and a ws420.

I have the syn 2 set to stereo and set to full as the manual suggests.

Unless I have the gain set to max I'm not getting the volume that I used to get. I'm wondering if frequency dial is set to the right setting. Where does everyone set the rest of the settings on the amp. There should be a perfect setup since I am only using wetsounds. I know in the past the ws420 used to have screws on the top that allowed you to adjust output, but they are now gone.

Help Please.
Old    Bruizza (bruizza)      Join Date: May 2009       06-03-2011, 7:44 AM Reply   
If you are only using 1 Syn 2 to power the 80s they are likely underpowered. Syn 2 is 350x2 so assuming you have the speakers wired in series or parallel (I always get those confused) they are only getting about 175 watts a piece. A Syn 2 on each pair or a Syn 4 on each pair would give you the volume you are looking for. I know you said this isn't your first rodeo with this set up and that it used to sound better but you are definitely not realizing the full potential of the speakers powering 4 of them with a Syn 2. I am sure some of the more knowledgeable stereo gurus will jump in here with some advice on how to tune what you have better. IMHO your best option is add another Syn 2.
Old    Murphy Smith (murphy_smith)      Join Date: Dec 2005       06-03-2011, 7:59 AM Reply   
Bruizza - see below

Two Syn 2's and 4 Pro 80's pushes 175 watts at 4 ohms to each speaker.

One Syne 2 and 4 Pro 80's pushes 175 watts at 2ohms to each speaker.
Old    Bruizza (bruizza)      Join Date: May 2009       06-03-2011, 8:10 AM Reply   
Ahh gotcha. This is why I am no stereo guru lol. I was thinking 350x2 on the Syn 2's. Just one more reason my brother handles all the stereo install stuff on our boat.
Old    Bruizza (bruizza)      Join Date: May 2009       06-03-2011, 8:21 AM Reply   
Murphy I have been thinking about this and I am pretty sure you could get 350x2 out of the Syn 2s. Couldn't you wire each pair of pro 80s in parallel and have the Syn 2 running in 2 ohm stereo which would push 350 to each speaker? Below is what it says the Syn 2 does at 2 ohm Stereo. Am I crazy in thinking you could wire it up like that?

Stereo @ 2 Ohms 350 x 2 watts RMS
Old    Shawndoggy (shawndoggy)      Join Date: Nov 2009       06-03-2011, 8:37 AM Reply   
I think that when wetsounds went to the unadjustable aux input that they undergained it. if you aren't using a headunit, have you tried running the ipod into the rca inputs on the ws420 instead? I've tried running three different inputs into my ws420 though the 3.5mm aux jack (isimple is76 (output from ipod doc connector), 3.5mm patch cord (ipod headphone jack) and a portable xm stereo via 3.5mm patch cord) and all three were much softer than my sony deck with 2v preouts.

for grins, try a different aux input into the amps instead of the ws420?
Old    Murphy Smith (murphy_smith)      Join Date: Dec 2005       06-03-2011, 8:37 AM Reply   
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepitojones View Post
This is not correct. The SYN 2 is capable of 350 x 2 watts RMS in Stereo @ 2 Ohms. If you hook up 2 Pro80s to that in parallel, you're getting 350 per Pro80. If you're running 4 Pro80s on a single SYN 2 in series-parallel, then you will be getting 175 per Pro80.

Please explain how are able to run 2 speakers on a Syn 2 at 2 ohms.
Old    Adam R (wakecumberland)      Join Date: Oct 2007       06-03-2011, 8:40 AM Reply   
It is 350x2 @ 2 ohms but its going across 4 speakers so its 175W X 4 in this case. I hope i got that right!

Mike, lets see some on water pics of that XStar!
Old    Murphy Smith (murphy_smith)      Join Date: Dec 2005       06-03-2011, 8:41 AM Reply   
Straight from the Wet Sounds Website.

Tower Speakers:
- (1) pair of PRO 60's or (1) pair of PRO 80's. Power: 200 x 2.
- (2) pairs of PRO 60's or (2) pairs of PRO 80's. Power: 350 x 2
- DOUBLE UP tower system: Power: 350 x 2.

You have to run 4 speakers on the amp to get the 2 ohm load out of it.
Old    Steve (pepitojones)      Join Date: Jun 2010       06-03-2011, 8:43 AM Reply   
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy_smith View Post
Please explain how are able to run 2 speakers on a Syn 2 at 2 ohms.
I had my mindset on a traditional amp where you're typically getting more power as you lower the impedance (250 x 1 @ 4ohm -> 500 x 1 @ 2ohm -> 1000 x 1 @ 1ohm etc). I keep forgetting that Wet Sounds does things differently.

700 x 1 at 4 ohms is going to give you 175 per 4ohm speaker with 4 speakers connected. Same goes for bridging 2 pairs on each of the 350 x 2 2ohm channels.
Old    Murphy Smith (murphy_smith)      Join Date: Dec 2005       06-03-2011, 8:44 AM Reply   
No worries - sounds like you understand it clearly.
Old    Steve (pepitojones)      Join Date: Jun 2010       06-03-2011, 8:46 AM Reply   
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy_smith View Post
Straight from the Wet Sounds Website.

Tower Speakers:
- (1) pair of PRO 60's or (1) pair of PRO 80's. Power: 200 x 2.
- (2) pairs of PRO 60's or (2) pairs of PRO 80's. Power: 350 x 2
- DOUBLE UP tower system: Power: 350 x 2.

You have to run 4 speakers on the amp to get the 2 ohm load out of it.
That's not strictly true.. You could run 2 SVC 2ohm subs (JL Audio 10 or 12W3v3-2 for example) and get 350 to each..
Old    Bruizza (bruizza)      Join Date: May 2009       06-03-2011, 8:50 AM Reply   
So you would need 2 ohm pro 80s to get the full 350 watts only they don't make 2 ohm pro 80s. Got it. I always get that impedance stuff confused. Sorry to hijack your thread and mess it all up Mike.
Old    Murphy Smith (murphy_smith)      Join Date: Dec 2005       06-03-2011, 9:09 AM Reply   
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepitojones View Post
That's not strictly true.. You could run 2 SVC 2ohm subs (JL Audio 10 or 12W3v3-2 for example) and get 350 to each..
You win Steve!!!! Way to go!!!!!
Old    Steve (pepitojones)      Join Date: Jun 2010       06-03-2011, 9:35 AM Reply   
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy_smith View Post
You win Steve!!!! Way to go!!!!!
I think you just obliterated my sarcasm detector, now I'm going to have to buy a new one..

To the OP:

Do you have an AUX input on your head unit? I think shawndoggy is correct, so you might want to try running the ipod to the HU's AUX (assuming you have one) to take advantage of the higher output from the HU preamp RCAs. I won't be able to test that theory myself until I get my stereo buttoned back up, but I am curious about it now and will definitely be looking into it.
Old    Murphy Smith (murphy_smith)      Join Date: Dec 2005       06-03-2011, 10:09 AM Reply   
What about making sure that the volume on the ipod and 420 are set at 80% prior to tuning....
Old    Brian Bedell (brian_b)      Join Date: Dec 2009       06-03-2011, 10:19 AM Reply   
Run Ipod via a ipod (bottom) to RCA cable (red and white) into rear of 420 main, where head unit goes. This will sound WAY better. Ipod aux to aux on 420 no good.
Old    Hate N Pain (hatepain)      Join Date: Aug 2006       06-03-2011, 10:29 AM Reply   
WS suggest that you have the amp set to "full" not high pass? Typically with HLCD's you should have the amp set to HP and crossed over in the 80-100 range. Do you have the EQ on the iPod turned off? Is the volume on the iPod turned most of the way up? I prefer to have my sources at no more than 85%.
Old    Shawndoggy (shawndoggy)      Join Date: Nov 2009       06-03-2011, 3:42 PM Reply   
I think putting one of these inline inbetween the ipod and the ws420 might fix the issue, though I hate to add one more peripheral to the signal path.

http://www.amazon.com/PIE-Adjustable.../dp/B001AB7HXG

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:37 PM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us