Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Video and Photography

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Steve O. (wink_vlx)      Join Date: Jun 2006       03-06-2009, 11:22 AM Reply   
I just purchased a new Sony camcorder & am looking for the easiest & best quality software to start editing my video. Any thoughts?
Old    jeffsv211 (jeffsv211)      Join Date: Aug 2006       03-06-2009, 12:33 PM Reply   
I could use advice on this also. My company takes video and burns it on a DVD-R. This then returns to our office and I have a reporting dept that takes and edits it for a final product to send out to customers (inspections of facilities). We use Nero now and seem to have some difficulties. Any luck with Corel products?
Old    Seán (sean7791)      Join Date: Sep 2008       03-06-2009, 12:39 PM Reply   
I just downloaded Sony Vegas Pro and it seems pretty good
Old    Mikel (mikel_j)      Join Date: Aug 2008       03-06-2009, 7:32 PM Reply   
Depends on what you want to spend really. I would suggest Final Cut for a Mac or Premiere for PC.
Old    Steve O. (wink_vlx)      Join Date: Jun 2006       03-07-2009, 9:38 AM Reply   
PC- I dont want to break the bank but also want something user friendly until I get the hang of the software & its capabilities. I have heard that Premiere has a problem with crashing often.
Old    Joe Umali (dakid)      Join Date: Feb 2001       03-07-2009, 11:16 AM Reply   
where did you hear that????
Old    rodney (azwakekid)      Join Date: Apr 2005       03-07-2009, 1:12 PM Reply   
i have premiere. it works great for me. no problems
Old    Steve O. (wink_vlx)      Join Date: Jun 2006       03-07-2009, 6:46 PM Reply   
A friend & also read it under reviews in PC mag.
Old    Joe Umali (dakid)      Join Date: Feb 2001       03-07-2009, 7:47 PM Reply   
which issue (month) was it?
Old    Kung Fu Wake & Video (dcervenka)      Join Date: Sep 2002       03-08-2009, 12:29 AM Reply   
hmmmm... Joe and I edited a FULL feature DVD (with menus and DVD authoring) using Premiere Pro CS2 and had over 1 TB (terabyte) of footage... no issues.

I'm currently working on another feature with Ronnie Romero that is being shot ALL in HD and will be released on both SD DVD and Blue Ray. We're both using Premiere Pro (PPRO) CS3 and I'm on VISTA64 and he's on XP... no issues.

As far as PPRO CS4... I've heard some mix reviews, but nothing to do with machines crashing.

It seems that the majority of users who encounter problems with their PCs & PPRO have their machines loaded with a bunch of crap (freeware, spyware, porn, games, sh't downloaded off torrent sites, etc...) and/or are totally under powered (CPU & RAM)

Do you need PPRO to make simple movies? Probably not since there is a learning curve.

I've heard that Vegas Pro is more intuitive and probably better for the casual user.

Or you can buy a MAC and it will edit your movie and make your coffee too... all with just a click of a button.

(Message edited by dcervenka on March 07, 2009)
Old    DH (dryhop)      Join Date: Feb 2009       03-08-2009, 10:00 AM Reply   
I've used Premiere Elements ($70 consumer version of Premiere)for 3 or 4 generations. Things have improved over time... but I am in the habit of:

1) Saving often.
2) Disable networking/internet and also virus software during edit/burn sessions.
3) Perform a clean reboot prior to burning a DVD. (in the past, it seemed that edit sessions can cause memory leaks and/or other resource allocation issues which showed up during a burn)
4) Keep the kids and their software off my computer.

I've currently got 4.0 and things have been really stable, and I'm especially happy with HD content.
Old    Nick Yochman (lakemiltonwake08)      Join Date: Oct 2008       03-08-2009, 10:18 AM Reply   
I've been using Adobe Premiere CS3 for the past few days and it's hands down the best program I've ever used. It's so in depth with everything you can do. And I haven't experienced it crashing yet.
Old    Steve O. (wink_vlx)      Join Date: Jun 2006       03-08-2009, 3:35 PM Reply   
Thanks for the info, this is why I was asking the question.
Old    Rich (rson)      Join Date: Jun 2002       03-08-2009, 10:09 PM Reply   
The Adobe CS4 suite has had issues. It just is a hog like Vista. CS3 runs soooooo much better and you can get a deal on it.
Old    Joe Umali (dakid)      Join Date: Feb 2001       03-09-2009, 3:20 AM Reply   
i've been running adobe master collection cs4 and production premium cs4 on 2 different comps w/ no issues what-so-ever.
Old    Brett Brinkerhoff (brinks)      Join Date: Mar 2002       03-09-2009, 7:42 AM Reply   
How nice is that integration between programs in the new CS4! It makes me almost want to switch from FCP.
Old    Kung Fu Wake & Video (dcervenka)      Join Date: Sep 2002       03-09-2009, 8:10 AM Reply   
Brinks are you referring to the dynamic link between After Effects and Premiere?
Old    murrayair            03-09-2009, 2:57 PM Reply   
Premiere elements is by far the best program for the money. It rivals many $300 programs. I have used a lot of different consumer-end editing programs and I wouldn't even consider anything but Premiere Elements for what you will be doing.
Old    Rich Dykmans (richd)      Join Date: Oct 2003       03-09-2009, 8:07 PM Reply   
Don't ask me I've having some coffee and waiting for my Mac to start editing!
Old    Reid H Bangert (hyperlitemontage)      Join Date: Mar 2009       03-10-2009, 2:08 PM Reply   
I would suggest final cut express. It is what I use and its fantastic. If you really want to get expensive though you can shoot for the full final cut. Final Cut Express has more than plenty features and for the price you can't beat it.
Old    Brett Brinkerhoff (brinks)      Join Date: Mar 2002       03-10-2009, 3:48 PM Reply   
Kung Fu,
Yes. It is one of the better program integrations I have seen.
Old    Kung Fu Wake & Video (dcervenka)      Join Date: Sep 2002       03-10-2009, 4:59 PM Reply   
Cool.. Yeah I dig it and it definitely improves the workflow! Just a note that "Dynamic Link" is also available in CS3
Old    Scott McMillan (scottymc261)      Join Date: Mar 2009       03-28-2009, 2:28 PM Reply   
I got Pinnacle Studio 12 this winter and love it! No crashing at all. You can pick and choose what add-ons you want like HD editing..
Old    Nick Schrein (wakeboardern1)      Join Date: Aug 2007       03-28-2009, 7:25 PM Reply   
So, I tried to edit on Premiere towards the beginning of the summer, thinking that since a ton of people use it, it clearly must be better than Vegas...

What I found was that I worked much better sticking with Vegas Pro, and that you can do a ton of stuff on it. My only complaint with Vegas involve a lack of some options in regards to film effects and transitions, but other than that, great product IMO.
Old    Brett Brinkerhoff (brinks)      Join Date: Mar 2002       03-28-2009, 10:24 PM Reply   
You should try a google search for free sony vegas plug-ins. There are also plenty to buy.

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 AM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us