Articles
   
       
       
Pics/Video
   
       
       
Shop
Search
 
 
 
 
 
Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
WAKE WORLD HOME
Email Password
Go Back   WakeWorld > Video and Photography

Share 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old    Thomas Deneka (tdeneka)      Join Date: Aug 2002       02-25-2008, 1:27 PM Reply   
Hey, I am looking for a littl advice on a build for my next computer. I have fallen out of touch with a lot of this. Basically I plan on getting a Dell Precision T7400 workstation. Processor will be one of the 45nm Quad-core Xeons (one to sart with, a second once Adobe steps up their game on using multi processors). I primarily run Premier pro 2 and PS CS2, also have the rest of the CS2 production studio premium. Processor and memory I think I have worked out. Question is storage.

There is room for 5 SATA drives (or 4 SAS), up to 1TB each.

Origianlly I was thinkning something like:
1 x 160GB 10K RPM for OS and apps
2 x 250GB in RAID 0 for scratch
0.5-1 TB in RAID 1 for storage

But then I wonder if I should go 2x 80GB 10K in RAID 0 for OS and Apps and maybe additional small fast drives in RAID 0 for scratch.

The larger storage in RAID 1 is a pretty obvious choice (although I do wonder if I should have these be external so they are not always on??)

Any opinions/experiences would be great.

Oh yeah, I am pretty set on using Dell (or similar) for time/reliability sake.
Old    Thomas Deneka (tdeneka)      Join Date: Aug 2002       02-29-2008, 12:40 PM Reply   
Well, I ordered a nice box that should leave a little room to grow into:

Dell Precision T7400
Quad Core Intel Xeon Processor E5440 (2.83GHz,2X6M L2,1333) (second socket empty for additional CPU later)
4GB, DDR2 SDRAM FBD Memory, 667MHz, ECC (6 DIMMS)
256MB PCIe x16 nVidia Quadro FX570, Dual Monitor DVI Capable
C1 All SATA drives, Non-RAID, 3 drive total configuration
320GB SATA 3.0Gb/s,7200 RPM Hard Drive with 8MB DataBurst Cache
750GB SATA 3.0Gb/s,7200 RPM Hard Drive with 16MB DataBurst Cache
750GB SATA 3.0Gb/s,7200 RPM Hard Drive with 16MB DataBurst Cache
16X DVD+/-RW w/ Cyberlink PowerDVD
Internal USB Media Card Reader 19:1
Internal Chassis Speaker,Dell
USB Entry Quietkey, No Hot Keys
Dell USB 5-Button Premium Optical Mouse
Genuine Windows® XP Professional, SP2 with Media
Resource DVD - Contains Diagnostics and Drivers
3 Year Limited Hardware Warranty with Next Business Day On-Site Service
Genuine Windows® XP Sticker


Will likely set up the 2 750s in RAID 0. Will probably get another big external for backup. Can't wait to see how much faster this sucker is compared to my current P4 2.26GHz 533FSB with a whole 512MB of RD-RAM!!

(Message edited by tdeneka on February 29, 2008)

(Message edited by tdeneka on February 29, 2008)
Old    Rich (rson)      Join Date: Jun 2002       03-02-2008, 9:00 AM Reply   
why the slow ram clock speed?

your pro's FSB is 1333 but you got 677MHZ ram.

a system is only as fast as the weakest link.
Old    Thomas Deneka (tdeneka)      Join Date: Aug 2002       03-03-2008, 9:19 AM Reply   
I could very well be wrong, but I believe in dual/quad channel memory MOBOs, the memory bandwidth is effectivly doubled, and an increase in the memory frequency above the processor FSB frequency will not improve performance.

In other words, while the individual channel frequency is half the FSB frequency, the total bandwidth x frequency is actually matched to the FSB bandwidth x frequency.
Old    Thomas Deneka (tdeneka)      Join Date: Aug 2002       03-03-2008, 9:21 AM Reply   
Now, it remains to be seen if I will ever see the benefits of FB-DIMMs, or if they will only be a hinderance (hoping for more 64 bit software, love to fill those 8 slots with big sitcks!!).
Old    Thomas Deneka (tdeneka)      Join Date: Aug 2002       03-03-2008, 9:31 AM Reply   
This is the relationship with Intel multicore chips:

Stated FSB/4 = Actual FSB
2 x Actual FSB = RAM Speed

1333MHz/4 = 333.25MHz
2 x 333.25MHz = 667MHz
Old    Thomas Deneka (tdeneka)      Join Date: Aug 2002       03-10-2008, 12:55 PM Reply   
Just fired off a 45 minute DVD. Used to take over an hour to transcode (maxing out CPU and RAM). But with four cores of Xeon goodness it was done in less than 10 minutes.

Upload

Even though CS2 Production Studio does not take full advantage of more than two cores, it is really nice to be able to still use the machine while it is chugging away!!!

Very pleased indeed!

Reply
Share 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 5:50 AM.

Home   Articles   Pics/Video   Gear   Wake 101   Events   Community   Forums   Classifieds   Contests   Shop   Search
Wake World Home

 

© 2012 eWake, Inc.    
Advertise    |    Contact    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Policy    |    Report Abuse    |    Conduct    |    About Us