I got a hold of the Florida marine patrol today to find out what the law is for distance to stay away from another boat while passing or if a skier is down.
Heres what I found out. Even though florida has more boats than any other state, we have no law for that. NONE.
I asked who would be at fault and she said, they just passed a law where an officer will not even come out to the boating accident unless over 2000.00 of damage was done, it was 500.00 but it just changed to 2000.00.
So whats that tell me, since the guy had a old piece of crap john boat I could have rammed it till it sank and since 2000.00 of damage wasnt done (his boat wasnt worth 500.00) no officers would be involved!
They really need to set some laws in this state because theres not even a law of how far you have to stay away from a swimmer or fallen skier. I was sarcastic after I found out this and Said so I can do 50mph 10 feet away from a fallen skier and she replyed, you can but it wouldnt be very nice. Go Florida!
(Message edited by simba on January 27, 2004)