Any other states have laws like this or is New Jersey the first? Could wakeboarding in NJ be next?
New Jersey government is on a legislative rampage.
"This bill would require persons operating or riding on a personal watercraft, popularly known as a jet ski, to wear a securely fitted protective helmet approved by the Superintendent of State police while that watercraft is underway. The superintendent would be required to adopt rules and regulations listing the specifications and types of approved helmets. Violations of this provision would be punishable by a fine of $25 for a first offense, $50 for a second offense, and $100 for a third or subsequent offense."
NJ helmet laws for PWCs (Sea-Doo, jet-ski, Waverunner)
(Message edited by gpalovcak on October 30, 2006)