WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3183)
-   -   anybody know where to get an hse revolution repaired? (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=799476)

shawndoggy 08-09-2013 11:59 AM

anybody know where to get an hse revolution repaired?
 
My volume controller died. I really want it to work! It still powers up and appears to set levels from the tach signal, but no output at all.

Pad1Tai 08-09-2013 12:46 PM

I have a new one in the box.. What do you offer me for it......

shawndoggy 08-12-2013 10:43 AM

so no repair recommendations though? I've opened it up and (un)fortunately don't see any burnt traces on the board or anything else obviously out of order.

buffalow 08-12-2013 1:03 PM

Reach out to Jim Aikins on the WW boards. I ride with him a few times a week so I will text him now

shawndoggy 08-12-2013 1:06 PM

Thanks Jason!

HSE 08-12-2013 1:59 PM

Shawndoggy,
Sorry to hear the HSE stopped working.. My partner who is the electrical engineer that would possibly be able to repair it, is not in a position to do that with his current employer. I do not have any stock, as I sold my remaining inventory to my dealer in Australia three years ago. That may be a possible option for a new unit.

http://www.dwcmarineaudio.com.au/

Again, sorry for the inconvenience.
Jim Aikins

shawndoggy 08-12-2013 2:50 PM

gah, bummer. Thanks for the reply!

monkey_butt 08-12-2013 5:00 PM

I would buy the one 'new in the box' above or reach out to Martin Archer which you know very well from the malibu crew forum. It got me thinking about the device he implemented for his surf gate - the arduino controller should be able to perform the exact same thing based on the programming you do. From what I understand (and Jim Aikins probably can confirm this) is that the HSE is getting the full input signal from your head unit etc. Then it lowers the output signal until it reaches the speed set in the program which is coming from the paddle wheel or the GPS unit - doesn't matter. At that point it changes the output back to what it was/would be w/o the HSE. The potentiometer is just changing the signal difference between input and output at idle speed.

Unfortunately I'm not an engineer but tinkering around with software isn't that difficult - especially given the online forums for the arduino. And if you asked Archer - he would probably build one for himself ;-)

duffymahoney 08-12-2013 10:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pad1Tai (Post 1838184)
I have a new one in the box.. What do you offer me for it......


How much do you want for it?

joesell 08-12-2013 11:40 PM

That sucks! I've been meaning to get a hold of Jim with the hopes that he could help me too. My HSE started making the speakers pop whenever you start the boat. Like 5 loud pops every time. I unpugged the rca's and the problem went away.
Any ideas?

monkey_butt 08-15-2013 6:51 AM

You might be getting a RPM signal from the engine which is too strong when you start. If it works w/o issue after starting I would check connection/signal there first.

joesell 08-15-2013 12:10 PM

Nicholas, I'll disconnect the rpm wire and try it. What if it does work then? Do I need a new rpm sender (or whatever it's called)? Is there an adjustment?

It's been a while since I installed it. I can't remember how it went.

It sure would be cool if it works, I love that thing. I still can't believe they stopped making them.

monkey_butt 08-16-2013 7:04 AM

Joe - what I meant is first to eliminate where you get the surge from - because that's what triggers your speakers to pop I have to assume (and anybody who's an audio guru - please chime in). So if you disconnect the RPM signal - does it still pop? 2nd option is your head unit? if you turn it off - then you obviously don't have an input signal to the HSE - so it shouldn't pop but that would be my 2nd step - first with and then without RPM signal attached. Based on what you said - the HSE is still working w/o issues once the boat runs - correct?

So simply put - you could just turn head unit off and won't encounter anything and after engine is running - turn head unit on and be all good to go as you avoid the surge going thru the system when you crank the engine. Obviously not the perfect choice but that would eventually tell you where the problem comes from. At this point I won't be able to help you with the details but theoretically I see the following options: Fix the problem of the surge - whatever causes it or put a "filter" in the line (either head unit or RPM) so it won't reach it. Again an audio guru can tell you exactly what I'm referring too - I"m only an accountant :banghead:

Pad1Tai 08-16-2013 7:34 AM

If anyone is interested...

$150 plus shipping ..

http://i127.photobucket.com/albums/p...ps42631d77.jpg

shawndoggy 08-16-2013 7:53 AM

I'll take it. PM Sent.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 3:11 PM.