WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Non-Wakeboarding Discussion (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4387)
-   -   I just want a sim card! (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=797098)

irishrider92 02-27-2013 6:32 AM

I just want a sim card!
 
So I'm going to the US for a few weeks and I figure I'll pick up a sim card for while I'm over there. I have an unlocked phone that'll work in America, but whenever I look online, for prepaid options, cos there's no point in getting a yearly contract, I can only get a phone with the sim.

I heard Verizon has good coverage for Orlando, so I checked them out, and it'll cost me $50 for the sim for the month, but it looks like I have to buy a phone with it, adding another $40-50, and I'm not about to shell out $100 for 3 and a half weeks.:banghead:

Over here, I can go into any store and get a sim card, with 5 credit for 5. I don't have any form to fill out and there's no questions asked. If I want to use it, there has to be credit on it, and I can use that for talk/text/data. If I head into a shop, can I just do the same over there?

Cheers

silvermustang35 02-27-2013 7:07 AM

You could probably just get a pre-paid that uses a SIM card, like AT&T or T-Mobile. When I was in Orlando area, my AT&T had zero issues. Ebay has SIM cards for cheap and then just activate a pre-paid plan I would prolly say.

wake77 02-27-2013 12:40 PM

Verizon doesn't use sim cards (I have Verizon as my carrier and I don't have a sim card, but maybe prepaid is different???).

silvermustang35 02-27-2013 12:41 PM

New Verizon iPhones have SIM cards. I was amazed to see it. How much they actually are doing is another question.

wake77 02-27-2013 4:27 PM

I have an Iphone 5 that I bought in October and it does not have a sim card. Is this something that is coming soon or released in the past few weeks.

silvermustang35 02-27-2013 4:46 PM

They may not. I saw a 5 yesterday and it has a SIM card slot. They may not be utilizing t. I have AT&T so I'm not certai . I do know I saw the same slot. I thought for 4g they needed it. Maybe I just dreamed that though lol

magic 02-27-2013 6:34 PM

Verizon is CDMA, if your current carrier is in Europe and the handset uses a SIM, chances are you have a GSM devise. Won't work on Verizon. When here goto a place like WalMart, pick up what ever their cheapest prepaid GSM phone is, put the SIM in your phone.

lfrider139 02-28-2013 8:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wake77 (Post 1809014)
I have an Iphone 5 that I bought in October and it does not have a sim card. Is this something that is coming soon or released in the past few weeks.

Are you sure? I got mine in September and it has a sim card.

jhartt3 02-28-2013 11:05 AM

Dude check out Solavei... They use sims... quick and easy to sign up just click the "enroll Today" link ... added perk they pay you for new people you sign up to the tune of 20 bucks a month for every three people every month as long as you maintain service with them... www.thepurplepays.com

jhartt3 02-28-2013 11:07 AM

also verizon iphone 4s and up have sim card slots but dont use them ... at least that is what i've seen

magic 02-28-2013 11:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jhartt3 (Post 1809170)
Dude check out Solavei... They use sims... quick and easy to sign up just click the "enroll Today" link ... added perk they pay you for new people you sign up to the tune of 20 bucks a month for every three people every month as long as you maintain service with them... www.thepurplepays.com

It's that they use TMobile which is GSM which will support his devise.

jhartt3 02-28-2013 11:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by magic (Post 1809181)
It's that they use TMobile which is GSM which will support his devise.

Yes thats correct they use TMobile which is GSM and supports his device

wake77 02-28-2013 1:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lfrider139 (Post 1809142)
Are you sure? I got mine in September and it has a sim card.

My provider is Verizon and it doesn't have a sim card.

jv210 02-28-2013 2:11 PM

Like others have said, go out and buy the cheapest prepaid tmobile phone, you'll be able to at least make calls.

Apple now makes one phone, starting with the 4s that works on both GSM and CDMA. Thats why your verizon phone has a sim tray and a sim card from verizon, but it doesn't do anything in the US. When your overseas it will use the sim to work on other networks.

Verizon will actually unclock your phone and when you go to a foreign country you just pop a sim in the tray from that country.

alanp 03-04-2013 9:48 PM

i travel a bit internationally and always shake my head at the sim issue in the united states. just purely sucks.

irishrider92 03-05-2013 3:30 AM

It seems I can get one off T mobile so I'm going to nip into best buy and pick one up while I'm there. Think I can get a decent amount of internet for $30 a month which suits me fine. The thing that confuses me is having to activate the sim and then picking a plan.

jtiblier123 03-05-2013 5:29 AM

I would just buy a prepaid phone from walgreens or somewhere similar. Easy to use and you would have a simple U.S. phone number making it easier for people to call you so they don't get an international charge

hatepain 03-06-2013 6:23 AM

Is not a Sim card in your Verizon phone is the 4g LTE card. Verizon had never used Sim cards.

jv210 03-06-2013 10:49 AM

Hate it's not a 4g LTE card, that's built into the iphone5 I believe. My 4s does not have LTE but has the sim. It's a micro sim card, even says Verizon on it, they might not use but it's there.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 6:36 PM.