WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Video and Photography (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=87667)
-   -   What to Edit GoPro Files with on a Macbook Pro? (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=783937)

watersun 10-01-2010 12:02 PM

What to Edit GoPro Files with on a Macbook Pro?
 
I have Final Cut Express on my Macbook Pro and I just got a GoPro HD camera. I downloaded my first video from the camera last night and tried to open it up in Final Cut Express, but it is saying that type of file is not supported. What is an easy program to work with that I could edit these videos with? I just need something simple as I am not an avid editor, etc. Thanks a lot!

lakeskater 10-01-2010 3:38 PM

iMovie works well for me, I'm surprised that Final Cut Express won't work for you. Does the file play on QuickTime?

cali_rider 10-04-2010 8:39 AM

If you google MPEG Stream clip, download that program and convert you footage to something FCE can understand. H.24 (your gopro footy) is basically a MP4 codec and is only meant to be a finishing codec, so editing programs dont usually accept them. I believe, apple intermediate codec might work well you, its on the larger file size but FCE doesn't give you a lot of options.

I actually have a workflow written down for a flip cam workflow, but its the same thing. if you PM me i could send it your way.

Imovie works if you just want to upload to internet, if you want to actually edit i would use FCE.

gnarslayer 10-04-2010 8:58 AM

Download mpeg streamclip and convert the files to mov. mpeg streamclip is deffinately the best video format converter and you wont lose quality, it is also free... you may not under stand how to use it but a simple youtube video will show you its not difficult at all. mpeg streamclip deffinately has the most options as far as formats and sizes sound and whatever else

cali_rider 10-05-2010 9:20 AM

just to clarify for JKW - i would suggest "Apple intermediate codec" which is a .mov

.mov is just a container file, not a codec

dcervenka 10-05-2010 6:51 PM

That's weird... In Premiere Pro CS5 you just drag the clip into the project and it works.. no transcoding. Hmmm, I though MACs were better? ;)

watersun 10-14-2010 6:04 AM

Thanks a lot for the help guys. I will try mpeg stream clip.

breakz77 10-14-2010 1:20 PM

Dave - when you use Pro CS5 on a Mac you just drag the clip in and it actually edits it for you :)

ragboy 10-18-2010 2:41 PM

Look here.

http://www.goprocamera.com/tips/fcp.php


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 5:59 AM.