WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3183)
-   -   Clarion EQS746 wiring question (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=781476)

Silverbullet555 07-09-2010 11:10 PM

Clarion EQS746 wiring question
 
The equalizer calls for a positive, a ground and remote turn on. All of my remote turn on wires run through a relay which is energized by the remote turn on from the deck. The relay is 30 amps so power handling capability is not in question. Any reason why I cannot run both the positive and the remote turn on off the relay. It would eliminate one more wire running from the distribution block and make the install easier.

wake_upppp 07-10-2010 10:32 AM

I have these EQ's but dont remember if the + is supposed to be hot all the time. If that's the case, which I am pretty sure it is, then you wouldnt be able to run both a remote wire and hot wire to the same point. If the + is switched instaed of hot all the time then I guess it would be ok.

wake_upppp 07-10-2010 10:37 AM

Yep you got me curious so I pulled my EQS746 owners manual. + is hot all the time so no, you cant hook + and the remote together.

Silverbullet555 07-10-2010 7:37 PM

I went ahead and ran another hot wire for the EQ and the deck. I don't think it would have made a difference, but I didn't want to take the chance. I am so sick of rurnning wires and making connections. I hope to finish the main install tonight which will just leave the sub box to complete.

wake_upppp 07-11-2010 6:56 PM

It will drain your battery if you wire the remote wire to hot all the time. Not good for the EQ either. Do it right the first time or do it again later...

Silverbullet555 07-12-2010 11:17 AM

I was going to do the opposite. Run both the remote and power off the same relay. Decided run a seperate power wire and then just the remote off the relay.

shawndoggy 07-12-2010 11:35 AM

yeah it would work fine the way you proposed.

wake_upppp 07-12-2010 6:02 PM

Well that should be fine, but they must have a reason why they want + hot all the time in the installation manual although I dont see why exept if the EQ needed it for memory like a head unit but that doesent make sense either.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 PM.