WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3183)
-   -   ballast puppy wiring help (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=778871)

CarFanatic5 04-26-2010 8:42 AM

ballast puppy wiring help
 
what size fuse do I need to run inline? also what guage wire should I run.. I also assume I ground it back to the battery?

kamighazi 04-26-2010 9:24 AM

20 amp inline fuse. wire guage depends on how long you run is... if you have the owners manual it explains this, but basically if from batt to switch to pump and back to ground is 0-10ft is 16, if 10-5ft its 14, and so on.

Jabsco Manualhttp://www.go2marine.com/docs/mfr/jabsco/95774F.pdf

spencerwm 04-26-2010 9:46 AM

Below is a link to the tech sheet and install guide for the Jabsco Ballast puppy. You will need a 20 amp fuse and wire no smaller than 14. I find that 12 works the best. Let me know if you have anymore questions.

Thanks,
Spencer

Jabsco Ballast Puppy Install Guide

CarFanatic5 04-26-2010 1:05 PM

I guess I connect the black from the switch to the black on the motor aswell??

olskooltige 04-26-2010 1:55 PM

Orange to Orange, Black to Black, Yellow to Ground, Red to Pos. Red needs 20 amp fuse.

CarFanatic5 04-26-2010 2:28 PM

so the yellow goes to the ground on the battery.

olskooltige 04-27-2010 7:33 AM

It goes to ground somewhere, not necessarily the battery, but it needs to be to ground and through a cable run that is at least as large as the primary wire used to wire the rest of the pumps.

CarFanatic5 04-27-2010 8:20 AM

well the only true ground in the boat is the battery..

olskooltige 04-27-2010 11:42 AM

Yepper, but don't think you need to run it all the way back to the battery. If you ave a distro block with substantially sufficient wire under the helm, then run it there.

CarFanatic5 04-27-2010 11:59 AM

I will have to see if I have a distibution block up under there.

Guys do you know if they make a screened 1 inch intake thru hull fitting? I have a 3/4 fitting now, with a screen but wondered if anyone knew of a 1 inch one?

CarFanatic5 04-30-2010 7:30 AM

ok one more question. There is no direction on the pump to tell you which way the water flows??? also do I mount the pump motor up or motor down?

olskooltige 04-30-2010 8:24 AM

Jabsco recommends to mount the motor up because it is not submersible.

I don't know on the flow, but I wired mine with disconnects so I could flip the wiring if required.

CarFanatic5 04-30-2010 8:26 AM

hmm ok..

what kind of screws did you use to secure it?

olskooltige 04-30-2010 8:35 AM

I mounted them with stainless bolts, lock washers, and flat washers (over the rubber feet), through a piece of 6061-T6 A/C aluminum.

CarFanatic5 04-30-2010 8:40 AM

ah ok... Mine will be mounted to the ply wood in the boat...

olskooltige 04-30-2010 8:44 AM

Just screw them down with a fender washer over the rubber insert then, but a bolt with a lock nut or washer is going to be a more secure attachment. The pumps generate quite a bit of torque when they first turn on.

You can also rotate the pump head to change flow direction.

CarFanatic5 04-30-2010 9:33 AM

I have to use some kind of wood screws.. since its plywood..

I read that I can rotate the head... I just wish it would tell you the flow direction so I can have it correct before I install it all.

talltigeguy 05-01-2010 10:33 PM

If you mount with the brass side up, the water left in there will eventually leak down into the motor and your motor will seize. Most 2006 X45's will have one pump mounted upside down. At least mine did....and yup it went out on me. I have heard some models have them all upside down.

chpthril 05-02-2010 3:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CarFanatic5 (Post 1579676)
I have to use some kind of wood screws.. since its plywood..

I read that I can rotate the head... I just wish it would tell you the flow direction so I can have it correct before I install it all.

It's a reversible pump, it flows both ways. After it's mounted, if "fill" actually empties, and "empty" fills, just swap the wires out of the switch.

CarFanatic5 05-02-2010 10:02 AM

ah ya good idea swap the wires... duh!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 9:54 PM.