WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3183)
-   -   How do I connect two Sony RM-XM55 remotes to one deck? (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=778345)

daylorb 04-08-2010 11:17 AM

How do I connect two Sony RM-XM55 remotes to one deck?
 
Thought this would be easy, but I'm having some trouble. I bought two of these remotes. One to replace existing on dash, the other to add one to the transom next to the swim deck.

I read this thread - seems possible - and I've certainly seen this rigged up before, but I'm having trouble with all the connections.

http://www.wakeworld.com/MB/Discus/m...tml?1242954286

The question is how do I get two wired up. It doesn't look like I have two 3.5MM 3-way jacks - only one - and there is only one unilink port open for the remote, not two.

Thank you!

shawndoggy 04-08-2010 11:59 AM

I haven't done this, but I have read the watersport innovations boost box manual. The boost box acts as a remote on sony decks. The boost box manual says to get a y cable like this one:

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/...500_AA300_.jpg

manual here -- it has a picture which describes this in more detail, but it's a pdf and I can't post it in this thread: http://watersportinnovations.com/sit...08/11/sony.pdf

bawshogg 04-08-2010 12:06 PM

Shawndoggy is right. You need the unilink splitter that shouldof came with the remote, and you need one of those deals at the back of the deck. Should get ya up and running.

shawndoggy 04-08-2010 12:11 PM

Like this:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4010/...63f82e03_o.jpg

And you'll also need a sony unilink splitter like the one in this picture (the thing in the middle):

http://www.autosoundswarehouse.com/catalog/rm-x55m.jpg

daylorb 04-08-2010 12:16 PM

Awesome - thanks guys. I have the unlink splitter - the Y should be easy enough. So how do I wire the unilinks then?

Back of stereo goes into bottom of the Y on one unilink splitter - that has a remote input and a changer input... one remote goes into the remote input obviously - but then do I use a second splitter chained onto that one?

Also - is the 3.5MM just your every day standard stereo 3.5MM? Those splitters are at Radioshack and a dime a dozen.

shawndoggy 04-08-2010 12:22 PM

Like I said, I've never done it, just read the manuals. Yes, I think you can daisychain them like that (deck to splitter to splitter) so you'd have three open unilink inputs instead of one.

shawndoggy 04-08-2010 12:25 PM

and yes, I think the 3.5mm splitter is just a std headphone splitter. Can prolly score one on ebay or monoprice for under two bucks.

daylorb 04-08-2010 1:32 PM

Okay - will give it a shot. Thanks for the fast replies!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:48 AM.