WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Video and Photography (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=87667)
-   -   transver mini dv to computer (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=717473)

hawk22 07-18-2009 12:06 PM

I got a Mini DV recorder, pretty old I'm sure JVC GR-D372U. I didn't realize until just now that you can actually insert a card into it, so we've taken all of our video on the the mini video cassette. I want to upload some footage to post on the computer. I know it can be done I just don't know how. any help?

dcervenka 07-18-2009 3:02 PM

I'm not familiar with this camera, but here's the manual: <a href="http://dl.owneriq.net/4/49114b25-4c87-40e7-8bfb-1d473609f008.pdf" target="_blank">http://dl.owneriq.net/4/49114b25-4c87-40e7-8bfb-1d473609f008.pdf</a> <BR> <BR>Take a look on page 42 for more info on how to transfer picture/video to your PC. <BR> <BR>USB = pics <BR>DV (firewire) = pics &amp; video <BR> <BR>What sort of editing program do you have? In the past I've used Scenalyzer or Premiere Pro to capture miniDV footage.

rson 07-19-2009 11:14 PM

You need a video capture program like Premiere, P Elements, Pinnacle or Vegas to capture and control your camera.

hawk22 07-20-2009 10:25 PM

im not quite certain what editing programs I have. I work in Adobe Illustrator and PhotoShop for pics, but I've never done video...

dcervenka 07-20-2009 10:40 PM

Jeremy - what's your OS?

hawk22 07-21-2009 12:08 AM

vista

dcervenka 07-21-2009 12:36 AM

You should be able to connect your camera via firewire and then VISTA will throw up a prompt to capture the video. <BR> <BR>** Please double check the online manual for instruction on how to connect your firewire cable. It's usually recommended that you turn your camera OFF, connect the firewire, and then turn your camera ON. This will minimize the risk of blowing your firewire port on your camera.

dcervenka 07-23-2009 10:15 PM

I just tried this with my Sony TRV-900 (which I'm selling if anyone is interested) on WinXP box and it works the same way... Windows opens a pop-up prompt asking if you want to import the footage. I gave it a try and it actually works fairly well!

hawk22 07-24-2009 12:45 PM

thanks, I'll get a firewire and see if it works.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 6:48 AM.