WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Video and Photography (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=87667)
-   -   Trouble with firewire (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=707807)

boynepat 06-17-2009 3:14 PM

I have a canon gl2 and I am trying to put the video on my computer using firewire and adobe premier elements. I had to buy a dynex firewire adapter for my laptop. When i try and transfer it using adobe it says that it doesnt detect any dv camera. Does anyone know what I should do?

richd 06-17-2009 7:01 PM

unplug FW from the cam, turn the cam off, turn it back on and switch it to playback (VCR mode) and plug FW cable back in. If that doesn't work restart Premiere with the cam in that mode. Check your premiere setup and make sure it's set up for DV.

boynepat 06-17-2009 9:29 PM

I tried that and it didnt work. Any other suggestions? Im also gonna take it to the camera shop tomorrow and see what they say

richd 06-18-2009 5:17 AM

Do you have a FW harddrive or some other device you can test the port with?

boynepat 06-18-2009 8:30 AM

No but im gonna take it to the camera shop to see if they can help me figure which part is the problem, im thinking that it might be my firewire cable or just me not knowing how to do it correctly since I am kind of new to this

tdeneka 06-19-2009 8:47 AM

I have always had troublr with my GL-2 firewire connection. I finally realized that one of my external drives was part of the issue. If I unplugged my drive (firewire) and then plugged in the GL-2, everything was fine. Must have been an ID thing. Never really figured out the specifics though. <BR> <BR>Do you have any other firewire devices hooked up (maybe internal even, though not likely on a LT).


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 3:16 AM.