WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Video and Photography (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=87667)
-   -   CS2 Photomerge help (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=614678)

dudeman 08-14-2008 1:43 PM

My wife got a sequence shot of our son landing his first Mexiroll. It was taken with a Canon Rebel XT. I opened the photos in CS2 and attempted to photomerge them, but only the first shot and the rope on the 2nd and 3rd shot show up but he doesn't. I have tried several times. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

iamnathanhudson 08-14-2008 1:47 PM

send me the photos and i'll see what i can do. i'm bored at work most of the time anyways.

dudeman 08-14-2008 1:56 PM

Nate-O, thanks dude, coming your way to the email address in your profile.

Walt 08-14-2008 5:34 PM

Photomerge won't work for a action sequence. You have to do it in layers.

dudeman 08-14-2008 8:02 PM

Thanks Walt, Nate-O hooked me up. I think that's exactly what he used. I should know more, but it's just one of the 5 billion applications I have to support at the hospital.

Walt 08-14-2008 8:06 PM

If you ever need a step by step brake down let me know.

ladythump 08-14-2008 9:03 PM

Walt, <BR>I'm trying to stitch together a plane taking off. I've layered all the pics together but I can't figure out how to get them all together. When I use the erase brush, it works while I'm holding down the mouse but once I release the mouse, the erase marks disappear. <BR>I'll take a step by step break down if you don't mind. <BR> <BR>Ronia

Walt 08-14-2008 9:14 PM

I usually work from the middle out. Open your middle photo. <BR> <BR>Open the next photo in the sequence. <BR> <BR>Go over to layers and open the second photo in layers. <BR> <BR>Reduce opacity to 50% <BR> <BR>Click on move tool <BR> <BR>drag layer over to the first photo and line up. <BR> <BR>You might need to rotate a little one way or the other <BR> <BR>reset opacity back to 100% <BR> <BR>select erase brush <BR> <BR>erase part of the layer that overlaps <BR> <BR>Flatten image when done and repeat the process. <BR> <BR>

dudeman 08-15-2008 8:12 AM

Thanks, Walt. May hit you up sometime. I borrowed a pretty sweet CS2 book from our department photog, just haven't had a lot of time to dig into it yet other than reading about the Photomerge.

ladythump 08-15-2008 9:16 AM

when i select the erase brush, I hold down the mouse to erase but then once I let the mouse go, the erased part comes back.

Walt 08-15-2008 9:34 AM

I've never seen that happen Ronia.

ladythump 08-16-2008 1:03 PM

You are right Walt, I was using the wrong tool. Now that I've erased what I don't need, how do I make the background blend a little better (you can see where all the pics line up). After that, I need to crop it as I'm working with a huge "canvas". <BR>Thanks for the help. Your step by step is helping more than a tutorial.

bakes5 08-16-2008 6:38 PM

Ronia...did you set the camera to manual when you took the sequence? In other words, are the exposure values the same for each shot? If they are different, you have a harder time making them blend

ladythump 08-16-2008 7:22 PM

No the camera was on automatic so it probably won't look perfect but anything to kind of blend it together. Thinking the "rubber stamp" ???

bakes5 08-16-2008 7:50 PM

post a pic of and let's see what you are getting. It will be a little easier making recs

ladythump 08-16-2008 7:52 PM

For some reason since I switched to mac, I can't post pics here. Sent you and Walt an email of the final project. Not too bad for my first time imo.... <img src="http://www.wakeworld.com/MB/Discus/clipart/wink.gif" border=0>

ladythump 08-16-2008 7:54 PM

oops, no email for Walt. Hey Bakes, can you post for me? Thanks.

bakes5 08-19-2008 8:25 PM

Here it is <BR> <BR><img src="http://www.wakeworld.com/MB/Discus/messages/87667/616914.jpg" alt="Upload"> <BR> <BR> <BR>Here is my constructive criticism <IMG SRC="http://www.wakeworld.com/MB/Discus/clipart/happy.gif" ALT=":-)" BORDER=0> <BR> <BR>Having it on manual exposure would have ensured a more uniform sky exposure. That being said, you can adjust the brightness of the skies to match in lightroom or CS3. I would also only include every other shot as it gets a little busy. Finally, I would have taken it with a vertical orientation to get a little more of the foreground into it. If there happened to be a city skyline or something off to the right a bit that would have been nice to include as well. <BR> <BR>Anyways, keep shooting and posting <BR> <BR>Later <BR> <BR>Bakes

ladythump 08-20-2008 10:59 PM

Thanks Bakes. I actually didn't shoot the sequence with intentions of stitching together. Just shot it to shoot it then the stitching was an after thought. I like the idea of only including every other shot. Never thought of that. Thanks. Will keep that in mind in the future. <BR> <BR>There was nothing but a 100ft drop off a mountain at the end. That was the whole idea of shooting it and A vertical shot probably would have captured that better. <BR> <BR>Now that I know I can stitch, I will try and shoot better. <BR> <BR>Thanks for all the tips and for posting.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 1:12 AM.