WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Archive through April 04, 2003 (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=62369)
-   -   Clarion question (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=58996)

mitchm 03-21-2003 5:11 PM

I have a 2K MC 205 w/ stock Clarion head unit w/ remote, and 4 2-way speakers. The head unit only has 1 set of pre-outs. Can I add a Clarion 5-chan 600-watt amp and sub to this setup? Trying to get by cheap for now. Thanks for any help!!

gotpwr 03-21-2003 5:42 PM

Yes.

doubleup1080 03-24-2003 3:34 PM

Yeah, but an equalizer is necessary to go in between the head unit and the amp. Plug the set of rca's from the HU into the EQ and then from the EQ send out rca's for front, rear and sub to the amplifier. <BR>This is a typical EQ: <BR><a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&amp;item=3014865428&amp;cat egory=3290" target="_blank">http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&amp;item=3014865428&amp;cat egory=3290</a> <BR> <BR>If the amplifier has speaker level inputs you might be able to wire the HU and the amp in that way.

mitchm 03-25-2003 5:33 PM

Appreciate the comments!! This is the amp that's on it's way. It will drive the (4) 2-way Clar 6.5" + Clar. 10" marine sub. Speaker level imputs are listed. Think I still need the EQ? <BR>APX6005 by Clarion <BR>Maximum Power Output 600 W <BR>Continuous Average Power Output 290 W (45 W x 4 AND 110 w X 1 into 4 ohms 20Hz-20KHz @ 0.05% THD) <BR>Typical 2-ohm Stereo 75 W x 4 and 190 x 1 @ 0.5% THD 1kHz <BR>Typical Bridged Power 1kHz 150 Wx 2 and 190 x 1 @ 0.5% THD <BR>Bass Extender Control 0~18dB @ 45Hz <BR>Adjustable Front/Rear 55Hz-5.5kHz, 12dB/oct. High/Low/Band Pass Crossover and Adjustable 55Hz-550Hz, 12/24dB/oct. sub crossover <BR>Port for Optional BC-1 Bass Control Knob <BR>Mixed-Mode Operation <BR>Bridgeable 5/4/3 Channel Operation <BR>MOSFET Power Supply <BR>Speaker Level Inputs <BR>4-Layer Glass Epoxy PC Board <BR>

gotpwr 03-25-2003 6:13 PM

I don't think you need an equalizer, the amp should split the signal up from one set of RCA inputs.

bbeach 03-26-2003 6:41 AM

I am running a similiar system in my prostar. I took the entire clarion stock system out of an X-Star and put in my boat. The changes I made were to build an enclosed box for the sub, which made it hit a ton harder. Then I ran the amp 3 channels, 2 channels for the front and back components (6.5 Clarions and the tweeters) and then I used the 3rd channel to power the sub and bridged it. Overall I think I'm pushing about 100 watts to each of the 4 speakers components and about 200 to the sub and it sounds great! Good enough for my party cove!

mitchm 03-26-2003 6:42 AM

Dan, Thanks, and nice ride ya got there!

gotpwr 03-26-2003 7:37 AM

Thanks Mitch. I see your in Pelham, NH. I'm not sure where that is, but I spent a lot of summers on Lake Sunapee at my Grandparents cottage when I was growing up. Unfortunately they sold it in '92 and I've only been back to Lake Sunapee once since then.

mitchm 03-26-2003 2:32 PM

Dan, Sunapee is about an hour north of me. We have a cottage on Mousam Lake in Maine, 900 acres and crystal clear. Need a pull or 5 this summer, pls. look me up. Cya!

wetnwildaudio 03-26-2003 11:02 PM

even if the amp doesnt share the single set of RCA internaly, you can get rca y-cables for like $7 and then it will definently work


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 9:53 PM.