WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Archive through June 08, 2008 (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=589922)
-   -   Adding EQ (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=587011)

ndavis03 06-03-2008 10:42 PM

I have the stock Sony MEX-1GP that came on my 07 VTX, and am thinking about adding an equalizer. My boat also came with the Sony remote by the driver's right knee. I was thinking about adding this EQ: <a href="http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=16889" target="_blank">http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=16889</a> <BR> <BR>I am wondering if the remote will still work, or will I have to control the volume through the EQ? Also, I don't use an IPOD because I have the ability to download songs directly to the headunit. Because of this, I don't need to use the AUX input feature of the EQ. If the EQ is on the CD player input, will I still have all the controls and benefits of the EQ? Sorry for all the questions, but I am a little confused with this type of setup.

266crownlinebr 06-04-2008 4:47 AM

I think everything will stay the same as you have it now, except you will have control over what signal goes to what amp/speaker. I think you can just leave the volume at max on the eq. Then control it through the remote/HU. I am not sure what you are asking about the "EQ is on the CD player". The way I understand it works is this: Your music is uploaded to deck/HU - signal is fed to EQ(just leave volume knob at max) - then to amp/s - then to speakers.

wake1823 06-04-2008 5:48 AM

why are you adding the eq?

rvh3 06-04-2008 6:23 AM

I just threw this in mine and it made a world of difference..... <a href="http://www.etronics.com/p-40292-hifonics-hfeq-hifonics-hfeq-equalizer-crossover.aspx" target="_blank">http://www.etronics.com/p-40292-hifonics-hfeq-hifonics-hfeq-equalizer-crossover.aspx</a> <BR>With the different sound qualities of my downloads to my IPOD I was constantly playing with my stereo head unit trying to get the sound right. It was a pain dealing with the stereo and trying to drive the boat. With the EQ it is a breeze, and the sound is 100% better. I can now also fade sound from tower to boat and deal with my sub with ease.Great addition to my system. <BR> My remote volume still works with my stereo.

kikitlo 06-04-2008 7:47 AM

Your remote will still work. You can use the EQ in two ways. You can set the volume on the EQ, and use the remote control or vice versa. I added a Arc Audio KEQ-5 to mine and I go back and forth as to how I control my volume. You still have all the functions of the EQ with the setup you are reffering to. The hardest part will be dialing in the EQ after installation. <BR> <BR>(Message edited by Kikitlo on June 04, 2008)

ndavis03 06-04-2008 8:08 AM

Sam-I am adding the EQ for the reasons brought up in Cory and Rod's posts. My headunit is under the armrest, so adjusting it is kind of a hassle. <BR> <BR>I figured that the EQ would work with the headunit. I just didn't want to lose any of the features that the 2 products offer.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 AM.