WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Video and Photography (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=87667)
-   -   Ladies and Gentlemen, start your drooling... (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=564981)

wakesurf12 04-04-2008 1:49 PM

<img src="http://www.wakeworld.com/MB/Discus/messages/87667/564982.jpg" alt="Upload">

blake_hughes 04-04-2008 2:07 PM

I have no idea what that is... But I want one.

04-04-2008 2:28 PM

The Oakley Red out of my price range but are great system , Waiting for the Scarlet

cali_rider 04-04-2008 3:38 PM

I would but....... <BR> <BR> <BR><img src="http://www.wakeworld.com/MB/Discus/messages/87667/565011.jpg" alt="Upload"> <BR> <BR> <BR> <BR>Haha, to bad its not mine! <BR> <BR>Ryan, how are you liking the image? <BR> <BR>Have you decided on a workflow yet? Its not the most fun process to the camera but its well worth the wait!

scott_a 04-04-2008 4:26 PM

RED workflow FTMFL...

cali_rider 04-04-2008 4:39 PM

Well its not too bad, mine working for me so far, i wish i had my desktop on set but ehh its still not bad. We get to watch dailies every night and i have time to edit while downloading between renders, as long as i get to color in scratch im not really worried. But at a smaller scale, rendering out in Redcine kinda sucks...

parkcityxj 04-04-2008 5:43 PM

That's the Oakley RED Camera. <a href="http://www.red.com/" target="_blank">http://www.red.com/</a> It supposedly has insane specs on it, but I know nothing about video cameras. It's funny a close friend of mine has been filming/making the Oakley Women's Team Vid this year, traveling the world and what not. He's hasn't even gotten his hands on it. He's going to film Dallas Friday sometime soon as well for the vid.

cali_rider 04-04-2008 5:59 PM

Well its not actually Oakleys camera, the guy who owns oakley designed it. I heard he sold all his shares as well....not sure if thats true though...

richd 04-04-2008 8:07 PM

Did he design it or just pay for the development of it? I know he was posting a lot on DVXuser.com. Anyhow that's pretty sweet, what kind of system throughput do you need to edit?

cali_rider 04-05-2008 10:43 AM

Well on set im using my Macbook Pro 2.66, 2Gb of ram with a G Speed es 4TB Raid through Esata. I edit at home with my MacPro. <BR> <BR>With that said it really depends on the workflow, its pretty detailed so i will give you the short version, haha. <BR> <BR>The camera shots a raw file that is call a ".R3D file" thats the raw 4K file. Along with that file it also has 4 quicktime "Proixe" files, which are basically just quicktime skeletons that reference back to the .R3D file. It has a full res 4k, 2k, .5k, and a smaller one, not sure what exactly it is. But working with just the proxies you dont need to big of a system, you can use the proxies to your liking and just online it back in Redcine or Scratch. Rendering out of Redcine is the part where you will need a big system, but even then your still waiting. With my desktop it take 30 to 1 to render out 4k as a 1080P ProRes. <BR> <BR>Its tedious but the image is so dang good! Plus how cool is this camera, im on a shoot right now and once they shot out a drive, i download it and bring it straight into FCP or Redcine and i have 4K on my laptop, minutes after there down with the scene.

dcervenka 04-05-2008 10:44 PM

You had my at "ladies..." Nice rig Ryan, I can see why you have a box of kleenex on the table! <BR> <BR>Travis... "i download it and bring it straight into...." Yeah me too, but that's with the P2 card and it's only 1080i.. :-( <BR> <BR> <BR>btw - I shoot all my footage in 4k.. and then compress it down to the web or SD DVD.... ha!<img src="http://www.wakeworld.com/MB/Discus/clipart/crazy.gif" border=0>

richd 04-06-2008 7:49 AM

I get it, you edit it using the QT proxie and then online with a dedicated system. I'll bet even the QT proxies look pretty damn good. Doesn't sound like much of a system for run and gun though! At 4K rez how many minutes (seconds?) of footage per gig and how does it handle sound?

cali_rider 04-07-2008 11:36 AM

You can for sure finish in the QT proxies, you just have to turn them into another codec if you would want to bring them into color to do your coloring or you could do it in FCP and export then be done. But you can only color and edit in the 2K proxies which are still pretty sweet looking. The image it self is kinda dark and cloudy, so you have to color it or....well you just need to. <BR> <BR>To be honest, i haven't really compared minutes to gigs yet, each take is maybe 1 to 2 pages of dialog so 1 to 2 minutes of footage is like 1GB to 2GB each clip haha. Each Red Drive is 320GB, it will hold 2 1/2 hours of just 4K. Anything above 24 or 30 FPS is 2K. <BR> <BR>As far as sound, im pretty sure you cant just plug into the camera, you have to run your mics through a mixer to the camera. We have a sound guy, and he was saying that its 24bit audio that is woven into the video or something like that? Not too sure, but im having it backed up onto another audio recording device (Fostex FR2). It sounds good, nothing has really got me worried. It does bug out sometimes and we lose the proxies &amp; audio do to certain errors, not sure why. We just change out the drives after every scene to avoid those errors. <BR> <BR>reduser.net has a lot of good info, and if you are interested in the technology i would suggest downloading the drivers and Redcine from red.com . There is also another site that you can probably find on reduser where it lets you download other peoples footage for you to play wround with and test the .R3D files. <BR> <BR>Dave - I know what you mean with the compression, why shoot 4K if it will be going to the web? But the cool thing is that you can just re-adjust the frame size and it looks better then just compressing it, but i still get what you mean. But also think about the other end! If you get to go to the big screen, no worries!

nickbot 04-07-2008 1:52 PM

i don't understand anything you guys are talking about...

wakesurf12 04-07-2008 2:07 PM

Well, I am going to have to admit that it is not my camera but I figured people would want to see it. I farted around with it today for a bit and it is definitely sweet. I am super stoked to shoot with it. Its just getting the whole workflow thing down that is going to be a challenge.

cali_rider 04-07-2008 4:30 PM

I feel ya Ryan, try reduser.net , that can be really helpful or give me a shout, im on an Indie Feature right now and im using the workflow everyday so if you got any questions feel free to ask.

richd 04-07-2008 6:19 PM

Sounds like it's using some sort of compression scheme if you're getting that much footage per gig. I remember the HVX was 4 minutes per 4 gig P2 card at 720p60.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 1:48 PM.