WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Archive through March 24, 2008 (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=562537)
-   -   Drilling Holes in the Tower?? (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=558689)

murphy_smith 03-17-2008 1:22 PM

I need to drill 4 holes in my Skylon Swoop Tower in order to run some some 14 gauge speaker wire. The diameter of the tower tubing is around 1 7/8 to 2 inches and the tubing is aluminum. <BR> <BR>The holes I need for the rubber grommets are going to be 9/16's of an inch. <BR> <BR>My question is: Am I going to be taking away from the structural integrity of the tower by making four 9/16" holes that will be evenly spaced around ten inches apart? <BR> <BR>Thanks for you help.

rodltg2 03-17-2008 1:27 PM

wouldnt it be better to drill one larger hole and run all the wire out the one hole?

murphy_smith 03-17-2008 1:30 PM

Speakers are Wetsounds Double Up's...I will need four holes.

jon_a 03-17-2008 1:37 PM

you should be fine. I drill many holes that are 1/2" in diameter in towers and have never had a problem.

chpthril 03-17-2008 2:09 PM

4 9/16th holes??? Sounds kinda large to me, I can pull 2 14ga wires through a 7/16th hole with grommet. <BR> <BR>If it were me, I would drill one hole in between each pair, and pull out 2 wires from each hole. May not work for every application tho, just a though.

grant_west 03-17-2008 2:37 PM

Q: Am I going to be taking away from the structural integrity of the tower by making four 9/16" holes that will be evenly spaced around ten inches apart? <BR> <BR>Answer No! you can drill much larger holes and not still not have a problem. I would say its more of where your drill the holes than how large and how many. <BR> <BR>Example I dont think drilling a hole right on a bend or @ a high stress point in the towers a great Idea. I have never heard of a tower having any problems due to a large hole for speaker wire. <BR>The aera's where you need to drill wont be a problem

murphy_smith 03-17-2008 3:31 PM

Thanks everyone <BR> <BR>I got out some scrap metal and the actual speaker wire and confirmed that I will be able to use some 1/4 inner diameter grommets that will only require a 7/16 hole in the tower. <BR> <BR>Might have to use a little vaseline te greez up the grommets.

chpthril 03-17-2008 3:40 PM

<i>Might have to use a little vaseline te greez up the grommets</i> <BR> <BR>Pick up a small tube of silicone/dielectric grease.

kko13 03-17-2008 4:41 PM

YOU DO NOT NEED 9/16 HOLE!!!!!! good god you could run battery cable through there. 1/2 should be plenty and you can get the rubber gromets to fit in.

rockkrawler82 03-20-2008 8:37 PM

Do not drill, because you will cause it to oxidize the metal, causing rust!

trickyboarder08 03-20-2008 8:45 PM

Steve, how else would you get the speaker wires to your amp?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 5:37 PM.