WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Video and Photography (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=87667)
-   -   New Workstation Questions (Vid&Photo Machine) (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=550228)

tdeneka 02-25-2008 1:27 PM

Hey, I am looking for a littl advice on a build for my next computer. I have fallen out of touch with a lot of this. Basically I plan on getting a Dell Precision T7400 workstation. Processor will be one of the 45nm Quad-core Xeons (one to sart with, a second once Adobe steps up their game on using multi processors). I primarily run Premier pro 2 and PS CS2, also have the rest of the CS2 production studio premium. Processor and memory I think I have worked out. Question is storage. <BR> <BR>There is room for 5 SATA drives (or 4 SAS), up to 1TB each. <BR> <BR>Origianlly I was thinkning something like: <BR>1 x 160GB 10K RPM for OS and apps <BR>2 x 250GB in RAID 0 for scratch <BR>0.5-1 TB in RAID 1 for storage <BR> <BR>But then I wonder if I should go 2x 80GB 10K in RAID 0 for OS and Apps and maybe additional small fast drives in RAID 0 for scratch. <BR> <BR>The larger storage in RAID 1 is a pretty obvious choice (although I do wonder if I should have these be external so they are not always on??) <BR> <BR>Any opinions/experiences would be great. <BR> <BR>Oh yeah, I am pretty set on using Dell (or similar) for time/reliability sake.

tdeneka 02-29-2008 12:40 PM

Well, I ordered a nice box that should leave a little room to grow into: <BR> <BR><b><font size="-1">Dell Precision T7400 <BR>Quad Core Intel Xeon Processor E5440 (2.83GHz,2X6M L2,1333) (second socket empty for additional CPU later) <BR>4GB, DDR2 SDRAM FBD Memory, 667MHz, ECC (6 DIMMS) <BR>256MB PCIe x16 nVidia Quadro FX570, Dual Monitor DVI Capable <BR>C1 All SATA drives, Non-RAID, 3 drive total configuration <BR>320GB SATA 3.0Gb/s,7200 RPM Hard Drive with 8MB DataBurst Cache <BR>750GB SATA 3.0Gb/s,7200 RPM Hard Drive with 16MB DataBurst Cache <BR>750GB SATA 3.0Gb/s,7200 RPM Hard Drive with 16MB DataBurst Cache <BR>16X DVD+/-RW w/ Cyberlink PowerDVD <BR>Internal USB Media Card Reader 19:1 <BR>Internal Chassis Speaker,Dell <BR>USB Entry Quietkey, No Hot Keys <BR>Dell USB 5-Button Premium Optical Mouse <BR>Genuine Windows® XP Professional, SP2 with Media <BR>Resource DVD - Contains Diagnostics and Drivers <BR>3 Year Limited Hardware Warranty with Next Business Day On-Site Service <BR>Genuine Windows® XP Sticker</font></b> <BR> <BR>Will likely set up the 2 750s in RAID 0. Will probably get another big external for backup. Can't wait to see how much faster this sucker is compared to my current P4 2.26GHz 533FSB with a whole 512MB of RD-RAM!! <BR> <BR>(Message edited by tdeneka on February 29, 2008) <BR> <BR>(Message edited by tdeneka on February 29, 2008)

rson 03-02-2008 9:00 AM

why the slow ram clock speed? <BR> <BR>your pro's FSB is 1333 but you got 677MHZ ram. <BR> <BR>a system is only as fast as the weakest link.

tdeneka 03-03-2008 9:19 AM

I could very well be wrong, but I believe in dual/quad channel memory MOBOs, the memory bandwidth is effectivly doubled, and an increase in the memory frequency above the processor FSB frequency will not improve performance. <BR> <BR>In other words, while the individual channel frequency is half the FSB frequency, the total bandwidth x frequency is actually matched to the FSB bandwidth x frequency.

tdeneka 03-03-2008 9:21 AM

Now, it remains to be seen if I will ever see the benefits of FB-DIMMs, or if they will only be a hinderance (hoping for more 64 bit software, love to fill those 8 slots with big sitcks!!).

tdeneka 03-03-2008 9:31 AM

This is the relationship with Intel multicore chips: <BR> <BR>Stated FSB/4 = Actual FSB <BR>2 x Actual FSB = RAM Speed <BR> <BR><b>1333MHz</b>/4 = 333.25MHz <BR>2 x 333.25MHz = <b>667MHz</b>

tdeneka 03-10-2008 12:55 PM

Just fired off a 45 minute DVD. Used to take over an hour to transcode (maxing out CPU and RAM). But with four cores of Xeon goodness it was done in less than 10 minutes. <BR> <BR><img src="http://www.wakeworld.com/MB/Discus/messages/87667/555683.jpg" alt="Upload"> <BR> <BR>Even though CS2 Production Studio does not take full advantage of more than two cores, it is really nice to be able to still use the machine while it is chugging away!!! <BR> <BR>Very pleased indeed!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:34 AM.