WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Archive through February 21, 2008 (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=550830)
-   -   converting manual adjust wakeplate to hydro/elec (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=547237)

bill 02-18-2008 12:02 PM

i was thinking of converting my manually adjustable wakeplate on my 2000 supra launch to a hydraulic or electric automatic one.. <BR> <BR>it seems as if i buy a single arm piston with wire and a switch it wouldnt be too hard of a job.. <BR> <BR>has anybody tried this,which did you go with?i think an all electric one would be best as i wouldnt need to add an oil,servo resovoir to it for the hydrualic type.. <BR> <BR>all suggestions and experiences welcome

lovin_the_wake 02-18-2008 2:52 PM

I heard that the actual plate has to be replaced with the plate made for the Hydraulic setup but that's just what I heard

bill 02-18-2008 3:06 PM

I do not see why i can just mock up the old plate with the arm mount ,mark and then drill holes in it.. <BR> <BR>i was thionking i can just order any 12volt generic arm thats the correct legnth with wire and a switch and figure out how to mount it.. <BR> <BR>anybody??

lovin_the_wake 02-18-2008 3:24 PM

The guy that told me that said it had something to do with the fact that the Man. plate bends and the Hydr. plate hinges but I think it would work just fine I wanted to do the same thing on my Supra but I never looked too much into it that will be a project for next winter I'm still finishing my current 3 winter boat projects . . . . You can get pretty much everything you need to do it from iboats.com

99_slaunch 02-18-2008 4:02 PM

^^^ You are correct. The manual plate will flex and the hydraulic plate is hinged. I think that it would stress the cylinder with it not being hinged. I could be wrong though. Every hydraulic one I have seen is hinged. I'm sure it's like that for a reason.

bill 02-18-2008 4:15 PM

thanks monty ill check into it and it will go on my next to do list this year..

bill 02-18-2008 4:20 PM

ahh i now see the issue you all are talking about..i just went and looked at plate and i thought it was hinged but looking under the boat ,its all one piece.. <BR> <BR>i guess i can just the whole bennets 12 inch trim tab kit with plate and install it in place of the existing plate...?? <BR> <BR>More work but still i like the plates on the newer supras,they work great for planing quick and then dropping the hull all the way back down and lets the weight sink the boat when all in the full up position.. <BR> <BR> <BR> <BR><img src="http://www.wakeworld.com/MB/Discus/clipart/uhoh.gif" border=0>

fogey 02-18-2008 8:40 PM

FWIW, I have an '02 Launch SSV with a factory hydraulic plate, and it flexes. There is no hinge.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 6:36 AM.