WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Archive through June 21, 2006 (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=339308)
-   -   speedometer isn't working... (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=336503)

grenade 06-17-2006 9:03 AM

I just changed one of my batteries and after doing that I noticed PP wasn't working and then saw that the speedometer wasn't working either...could changing the battery have anything to do with it? what should i check out to try and get it going again? thanks

jon_m 06-17-2006 12:51 PM

what is it with speedometers on boats? a majority i have seen do not work.

grenade 06-17-2006 2:10 PM

one reason i miss the old xstar with the double speedo's...haha...im trying to figure it out myself before i have to bring it to the dealer to watch them keep it for a week and fix a 10 minute problem <BR>

tonysdad 06-18-2006 1:35 PM

I am having a similair problem and have not been able to resolve it...let me know if you figure it out.

peter_c 06-18-2006 3:47 PM

Check the circuit breakers. If you have a volt ohm meter just start checking the circuits. DC systems are very easy. 12 volts in, a ground, and possibly a signal wire. If both or all are there it is the component.

malibu73 06-18-2006 4:26 PM

My speedometer wasn't working when we bought the boat. If you find where the speedometer is mounted to the bottom of the boat and pull out the hose and take a compressor and blow air into it. It should work after that.

ridetilldeath 06-18-2006 7:38 PM

i know most of you if not all have inboards or v-drives but for i/o's i know that reeds get caught up in the place that sends the info to the speedo. for i/o's it is on the outdrive and if reeds get clogged up in it, it will not work <BR> <BR>not sure if this will help if you have an inboard/v-drive b/c i have no experience with them

tenn162000 06-19-2006 6:08 AM

Alright - New to the site so not quite sure what kinda of boats you all have. However, I have on of those Awesome Rare Toyota Epics- And My Problem was around the same as yours. The Little Computer that drives all the gauges (I believe in some malibus and mastercrafts as well) is very sensitive to power. Mine, fired up when the X-Owner changed the battery. For me its called an MDC and sits under the dash. It cost bout 300 bucks to replace and got a new optima battery and the gauges all came back to life. Is the speedo the only one not working?

tenn162000 06-19-2006 6:10 AM

Last bit of advice- Change the battery with the power switched off... Hope that helps...


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 6:46 PM.