WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Video and Photography (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=87667)
-   -   Online Camera Shops? (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=251604)

airwarrior04 08-30-2005 4:34 PM

ANy good ones?

Walt 08-30-2005 5:01 PM

<a href="http://www.bhphotovideo.com/" target="_blank">http://www.bhphotovideo.com/</a>

richd 08-30-2005 6:40 PM

Adorama seems to be good as well. one-call up in washington too.

isler 08-31-2005 12:15 AM

Gotta put in a plug for Samy's Camera. 5 stores in SoCal. Always have what I need... <a href="http://www.samys.com" target="_blank">www.samys.com</a> .

08-31-2005 9:31 AM

zotsdigital.com i believe it is.

09-01-2005 12:20 PM

Use B &amp; H as a benchmark. You can shop around and save a couple bucks, but it probably isn't worth the risk. <BR> <BR>Be careful, there are a lot of bad photo equipment sales web sites on the net.

isler 09-01-2005 3:10 PM

There are many reputable shops out there. If you're ever curious, look up the shop on <a href="http://www.resellerratings.com" target="_blank">www.resellerratings.com</a> . You'll quickly find out if they're good or bad. <BR> <BR>Another quick way is look on their website for a mailing address or retail locations. If it's hard to find... stay away. If it's located in Brooklyn, NY... stay away (that is a stereotype, but it holds true for 90% of bad online vendors)... and if they have a phone number in 718, stay away... <BR> <BR>Good: <BR><a href="http://www.adorama.com" target="_blank">www.adorama.com</a> <BR><a href="http://www.samys.com" target="_blank">www.samys.com</a> <BR><a href="http://www.bhphotovideo.com" target="_blank">www.bhphotovideo.com</a> <BR><a href="http://www.glazerscamera.com" target="_blank">www.glazerscamera.com</a> <BR><a href="http://www.calumet.com" target="_blank">www.calumet.com</a> <BR><a href="http://www.ritzcamera.com" target="_blank">www.ritzcamera.com</a> <BR> <BR>BAD (STAY FAR AWAY): <BR><a href="http://www.digitalliquidators.com" target="_blank">www.digitalliquidators.com</a> <BR><a href="http://www.broadwayphoto.com" target="_blank">www.broadwayphoto.com</a> <BR><a href="http://www.royalcamera.com" target="_blank">www.royalcamera.com</a> <BR><a href="http://www.amphotoworld.com" target="_blank">www.amphotoworld.com</a> <BR><a href="http://www.ubdigital.com" target="_blank">www.ubdigital.com</a> <BR> <BR> <BR>If you want to see what those bad camera shops' "stores" look like, take a look here: <a href="http://www.panix.com/~donwiss/pictures/BrooklynStores/" target="_blank">http://www.panix.com/~donwiss/pictures/BrooklynStores/</a> . <BR> <BR>If, after you place an order, you get an e-mail telling you to "call to confirm your order"... chances are it's shady. Usually, they want you to call so they can up-sell you on accessories, and if you don't buy more things, they'll tell you that your item is back-ordered, even if it says "in-stock" on their website. <BR> <BR>There's a lot more I could write about buying online..... but the best advice I can give you is that if something feels at all shady or sketchy, don't commit to it. <BR> <BR>I worked in a camera shop for quite awhile, and I've bought a lot of camera equipment from various places over the last 5 years...I've seen how a lot of these things go down. <BR> <BR>Mike <BR> <BR> <BR>EDIT: fixed incorrect link <BR> <BR>(Message edited by isler on September 01, 2005)

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 7:18 AM.