WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Wakesurfing (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=87668)
-   -   Advice on a new wakesurf board (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=802967)

08-05-2014 6:40 PM

Advice on a new wakesurf board

Hey guys,

I'm looking to buy my first wakesurf board. Does anyone know any good boards? I'm not really sure wether I like surf or skim style better. I usually wakeboard so I'm new to wakesurfing. I go wakesurfing whenever I can though. I was looking a lot into shred stixx and have heard a lot of good and some bad as well. It would need to be a relatively cheap but I still want a quality board and not a "beginners" board.
Thanks!

Chaos 08-06-2014 6:50 AM

Relatively cheap is pretty relative. There are lots of good boards out there, but most will be in the $500 to $800 range. The first thing is tell us a little more about your height and weight.

Nick

phathom 08-06-2014 11:00 AM

If you're new, you probably want a surf style board. That's where a lot of people start out. They are generally a little more stable and are good for carving around, having a good time on the wake and maybe getting some airs.
Skim styles tend to be a lot looser and are made to be able to do spins easier, but they are generally not as stable or straight tracking as a surf style is. This is due to how they track through the water and their much smaller fin setups.

Most people prefer to have not just one board, but a variety of boards, maybe even just one skim, one surf, or a few of each. Each board is going to have different characteristics from another board, even as little as being a model year different.

Definitely let us know height, weight, and what kind of setup your boat is running. If you have a killer wake, you have a wider variety of boards you can run. If it's not so great, you will want something a little bigger, and definitely one that tracks faster.

08-06-2014 1:48 PM