WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3183)
-   -   Towing, slipping, living? (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=786549)

EnderWiggin 03-23-2011 5:05 AM

Towing, slipping, living?

Newbie here. Just started wakeboarding last year and am really loving it. Luckily my neighbors slip their boat and are gracious enough to pull me around. Since I feel like a mooch, I'm kicking around the idea of buying a boat but was wondering to all of you how much of a PITA it is to tow and launch versus slip. Do most people out here tow and launch, or slip their boats, or are there a bunch of people that live on the lake?

Any words of wisdom are appreciated.

chris4x4gill2 03-23-2011 5:40 AM

I would tow vs wet slip if those were my options. I do get to live on the lake though, so we have a lift.

cadunkle 03-23-2011 6:11 AM

I tow. It's about 15-30 minutes to the ramp depending on which ramp I use. It's a pain but it is what it is. If I spent the big bucks for a slip I'd probably be pulling the boat every couple weeks to clean the bottom anyhow, if not every day or two of use to fill with gas. I'm not paying an extra $50 for the convenience to fill on the water when there's gas stations within a mile of the ramp. lugging around 8 or 9 5 gallon cans seems like more work than pulling the boat out and taking it to the gas station. I'd love to have the boat in the water all the time ready to go on a whim, but to me I can't justify the expense of having it really be convenient.

As for your friends, they probably don't mind taking you with them so long as you throw down for gas. I know I'm always hurting for a third so I'm gracious to find reliable people who throw down money.

wakebrdjay 03-23-2011 6:30 AM