WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Archive through May 16, 2005 (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=229845)
-   -   neoprene vs. nylon vests (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=227535)

soxgirl45 05-07-2005 7:46 PM

Hi, I'm new to wakeboarding (I just got an O'Neill Custom), and I'm trying to get all the right gear for the sport. I'm going to get a life vest, but I'm not sure which type is the best for wakeboarding. The neoprene ones seem to be what all the wakeboard sites carry, but they're also way more expensive than normal nylon vests. If anyone could tell me the difference between the neoprene and nylon life vests, and which one is better for wakeboarding, I'd really appreciate it. Thanks!

wakeboardn4life 05-07-2005 10:31 PM

your def gunna want to go with neoprean thats what every wakeboarder wears and there alot more durable

msasser 05-08-2005 12:42 AM

i have a neoprean. they are waaaaaay more comfortable, its just like wearing a regular tight vest, it doesnt stick to you or anything like nylon. the deal is, its not nessesary, like a $500 board isnt, like a $60,000 boat isnt. but, it is way more comfortable and way more durable. i say go with it, it will last you and you will be happy you made the choice when your out in the water.

westsidarider 05-08-2005 2:13 AM

yea man, theres nothin like sore nipples after a day of riding in a nylon vest thats worn out after one season

leggester 05-09-2005 6:24 AM

I've never fouind a USCG approved neoprene with large enough arm holes. They always seem to chafe under the arms. <BR> <BR>I've neve had a vest wear out in one season no matter what I've done to it. I seem to favor HO vests too.

fox 05-09-2005 6:39 AM

I just made the switch to neo this year. The other "benefit" for me at least is a wet neo doesn't feel as cold as a wet nylon when you put it back on for another set. <BR> <BR>Eric

wickedwake 05-09-2005 8:26 AM