WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Video and Photography (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=87667)
-   -   SLR for me (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=790704)

johnny_defacto 10-28-2011 4:07 PM

SLR for me

SLR gurus i need your help. I searched for cameras but am lost, please point me in a direction. For xmas i am buying us a camera, used mainly for pics of famiky and trips, we have 2 littke ones. I will also use it when i go wakeboarding or camping. My dad has a nikon d series that is very easy to use. I would like to keep it low cost, simple, but have the ability to change lenses and add filters or flashes later down the road. Camera + case i would like to stay under $7-800. Thank you in advance.

RedRum 10-31-2011 7:14 AM

I am new to DSLRs too and did a lot of research on them before I purchased. I had it narrowed down to Nikon and Canon because of brand reputation. I bought a Nikon D5000 off of a guy on eBay. I. He sold it as used since it was out of the box, but he never used it. Came with a camera body, bag, 18-55mm lens and a 55-200mm lens, memory card, and instructional DVDs and books for SLR cameras. I paid $550 for it...a really good deal as far as I am concerned. I absolutely love the camera and would recommend it to anyone just starting out.

SangerTom 12-01-2011 1:15 PM

Johnny - just got into photog. I got a Canon T1i. Believe they are up to T3 now. From what I understand, Canon has a better selection of lenses at better price points than Nikon. I like the camera but there is a steep learning curve.

12-01-2011 6:59 PM