WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3183)
-   -   Tuning pointers for a wetsounds system (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=779466)

gnat87 05-12-2010 10:39 PM

Tuning pointers for a wetsounds system

I just put 4 Pro 80's with 2 Syn4's pushing them on my boat. I tuned it and its way loud out in the driveway. This weekend was the first time I was behind the boat boarding and with the wind noise at 25mph I am wanting to tune again to see if I can get a little more out of it. Im no expert, these are my first HLCD's, and this is the first audio system I have ever attempted to tune. So for the guys with the same/simular setup or the pro's, what is a good level for the gains? I know every system is different, I am just trying to get an idea of how bad these speakers are and what they will handle. I was very conservative when I did the tuning the first time, the gains are at about 1/4 of max(best way I can describe it)...long story short...I didnt want to get out there and blow the speakers or anything while trying to tune it. Ive also got the WS420 for the fine tuning.
Thanks for any info I can get

vr6mole 05-13-2010 4:00 AM

set your headunit volume with all EQ's at zero to a 75% of the maximum value. Mine goes to 33, I tune at ~27.

Adjust your gains until distortion occurs then go back a notch.

Then when riding set your volume to that 75% of max volume.

gnat87 05-16-2010 10:33 PM