WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3183)
-   -   Stereos: Capictors (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=778628)

dave23 04-18-2010 2:48 PM

Stereos: Capictors

Anyone know anything about these? I need one for my stereo badly.

joesell 04-18-2010 4:20 PM

1 Attachment(s)
The first thing everyone will ask is, What gauge wire do you have running to your amps?

I have a 4 gauge run going to each amp. I still installed 2 caps the other day. I'm no expert by any means. I just figured that for $80 a piece, what could they hurt? I figured that I probably don't need them most of the time, but they might come in handy when the Batteries start to drain, and they're struggling. Guess we'll see how it goes.

bawshogg 04-18-2010 7:02 PM

Capacitors are nothing more than a storage device, somewhat like a battery. They are made to discharge all at once. I think if your batteries are very close to the amplifiers they are useless, but that's just my opinion.

joesell 04-18-2010 7:48 PM

That's what I thought. I have 2 batteries for the stereo, but they live all the way in the back by the engine.

bawshogg 04-18-2010 9:45 PM

For the OP, What makes you think you need one badly if you don't really know much about them?

dave23 04-18-2010 10:06 PM

bawshogg, This is for my car, not for a boat. I have problems with the headlights dimming when the sub hits. I was looking around on crutchfield and that's what one of the capacitor's description said it was for. I'll have to check what gauge wire I'm running, but the amp that it is being used here is a 600 watt amp if that helps at all.

shadow7874 04-18-2010 10:25 PM