WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Wakeboarding Discussion (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=1)
-   -   Removable fin just at the back? (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=778647)

goatboy 04-19-2010 6:08 AM

Removable fin just at the back?

First up hello Wake world, Newbie here from London :D

Hopefully there will be someone about to offer me some advice...
I'm a bit of a wakeboarding rookie and I've done a few sessions on the cable. I have managed to get my dock starts working (which took me a while) but I am really struggling with the corners. Every time I go for a corner the board just slides out from underneath me, next time I try I over compensate and end of with a stinging faceplant, which really sucks...

On my first session on a rented board back in the autumn I managed much better, but since then I got a my own board and I can't even get round the first corner...

This is my board http://www.wakeworld.com/products/in...detail&p=56062
But I haven't been using any bolt on fins so I thought I would them a try.
Now fins aren't cheap and 2 fins was 50% of what the board is worth so I was a bit weary of buying 2 and realising they only make matters worse, so I just got one and put it on the back. The guys in the shop thought it was a bit weird but seemed to think it was OK.
Is this a really bad idea or should I have bought a pair? I won't be riding switch or anything obviously so the back of the board is doing most of the work right now.
I really like the way the board feels on the straights so I don't intend to stick with the fin for long but I'm starting to loose faith I will ever get round...

Any thoughts?

ColoRadDude 04-19-2010 10:16 AM

That link isn't working, which board are you riding? and where are you looking at fins, they shouldn't be that expensive.

bmr82 04-19-2010 10:32 AM