WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Archive through May 04, 2005 (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=227721)
-   -   New Stereo upgrade - Help (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=223831)

mwgwin 04-18-2005 9:14 AM

Okay, I am lazy, I am not a stereo expert but I know a little. I figure alot of you guys out there have done hours upon hours of research in what is good, etc. I searched a bit but didnt really find much, if I missed a thread, please let me know. <BR> <BR>I have an 01 X-Star, stock stereo (I believe). The stereo is starting to malfunction and piss me off. <BR> <BR>Here are my requirements: <BR>Ability to connect MP3 player to the front of the deck <BR> <BR>Connect to two amps - I have two amps (sorry as of this post, I dont know how big they are, I believe they are stock) <BR> <BR>Connect to the remote I have at the steering wheel (Clarion stock) <BR> <BR>CD Player that plays MP3s <BR> <BR>Optional features <BR>Transom remote <BR>XM compatibility <BR>(Not sure what other features exist) <BR> <BR>Any help would be incredible. Thanks in advance. <BR> <BR> <BR>

ladythump 04-18-2005 11:33 AM

What exactly is your question? Are you going to buy a new receiver?

mwgwin 04-18-2005 3:13 PM

yes

jklein 04-18-2005 3:17 PM

I think you're going to have to go clarion because the remote you have on your steering wheel is proprietary to clarion head units. <BR> <BR>If you were not tied to the clarion remote, then I would recommend a Sony HU. It doesn't have a front aux in for the MP3 player, but for 20 bucks you can get a Y cable to connect your MP3 player to the Auxilary (aux) input on the rear of the unit, and just run the cable to a convienient location in the boat.

mwgwin 04-19-2005 7:52 AM

someone told me that you can get stereos with detachable face you can load up with MP3s too. Anyone had any experience with those?

mwgwin 04-21-2005 7:46 AM