WakeWorld

WakeWorld (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/index.php)
-   Boats, Accessories & Tow Vehicles (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3183)
-   -   question about stereo tuning (http://www.wakeworld.com/forum/showthread.php?t=788674)

bass10after 07-06-2011 12:49 PM

question about stereo tuning

Ive been doing my own stereo's for probably 15 years as a hobby, but want to get better at tuning. I can usually make rap/hip hop sound pretty good, but rock seems to be more challenging especially with this stereo. Do you guys go back and eq everything differently when you listen to rock or are you able to tune the system good enough initially that you can set it and forget it and all music sounds good. My specific system is (6) 8" home audio rc80i polks and (4) mirage mkII 4 being run by a jl hd 600/4 amp in our houseboat. i have a 100amp 12v power supply connected to a yellow top optima for extra capacity with the bass. the subs are jl w0 12's being powered by a 600watt rms soundstream amp at 2ohms. The head unit is last years top of the line pioneer. i just cant seem to make it sound clean enough with any type of rock. I'm not sure if its more the crossover points or eq that needs adjusting but i could use some pointers. help...

chpthril 07-06-2011 6:51 PM

So you've got six 8 coax and 4 full-range outdoor boxes, right. Are they all powered off the 600/4? If so, all at once or through a switch box?

How is the system laid out and where are the subs in relation to the other speakers? Are the 8's and the 6.5 boxes on separate halves of the amp so they can be crossed over a little different? Is the 600/4 set to "Hi-Pass"? Do you have an EQ in the mix?

bass10after 07-09-2011 8:56 AM